Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Very good granola recipe and I like that it's easy to add other ingredients to change up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
The flavor is good. I added additional ingredients such as nuts and dates, but like many others, I had trouble with the bars sticking together. I think next time I will increase the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by August Kenza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Though the taste was great, these came out more like oatmeal raisin cookies (I used raisins instead of choco chips) than granola bars. Probably wouldn't make them again. UPDATED: The next day, these were definitely more granola bar-like; I am going to try them again, adding the full 4 1/2 cups of oats next time, which I think will make them nearly perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Just made these and was very underwhelmed. I did skip the brown sugar based on some of the other reviews and only did a 1/2 c. of choc chips. It was sweet enough, but I also subbed canola oil for the butter b/c we're trying to cut back on saturated fats...I guess it needs the butter. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
My family absolutely LOVES these granola bars! I did make some changes though, I omit the brown sugar. The first time I made them I forgot to add it, but after tasting them, I didn't think they needed the extra sugar. I also use 4 cups of oats and a cup of honey. I've made several different varieties, apple cinnamon, banana chocolate chip and cranberry white chocolate chip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
These are perfect! My family has them gone within a week. Although I have made a batch and frozen it with good results. It was a bit drier but not enough that it bothered me or the family...Good Job this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Have the taste and texture of dry cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Excellent basic recipe for granola bars! I have made several versions of this and my family loves them! Big hint: "Press down in pan" is underrated. Use a meat tenderizer to smash it down well both before and after baking. I always add in flax meal and wheat germ (to make it a little healthier). Last night, I added some rice krispies, and dried cranberries and mango. We've also had peanut butter and choc chip, and going to try pineapple coconut next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Very good. My one-year old LOVED these. I wish they stuck together a little better, though. I only used 1 cup of chocolate chips, and that was a perfect amount for us. I ran out of oats and used some rice krispies to make up the difference. Next time I'll also add a litle coconut. Very flexible recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
These are super easy to make! I make them to take to work for my breakfast. Much better than boxed and cheaper. I melted the butter as another suggested and had no problems with them falling apart. I used one cup of chocolate chips and baked for 18 minutes. Great recipe! UPDATE: To make these healthier I now use whole wheat flour, one stick of butter, 1/2 cup of applesauce, less brown sugar and 1/2 cup of choc chips. Still great with these changes and makes me feel better about eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 650) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States