Chewy Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
The granola looks great, but we did not like the taste. The mixture tasted really boring, and the hint of butter just did not belong. The children we not enthusiastic at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
These were awesome, as is. I have also made them subbing some of the honey with agave nectar and some of the brown sugar with succanat, and both subs worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I really needed a great go to nut free recipe for my daughter. This was the perfect one to add on to.. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Müller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This recipe is decent at best. If you have to change a bunch of things to get what you want, it is a good first step but not a great finished product, hence the three stars. Needs work and several tries to get so it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
We love these at our house! I always add some flax seed powder and decrease the butter to 1/2 c. and compensate with a little extra honey. Our favorite mix-ins are mini chocolate chips, raisins, or dried blueberries or cranberries. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Followed the recipe and used homemade chocolate chips. My son wanted to eat the whole batch! These are perfect; I did add a couple minutes to the bake time because I used a stone baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
i absolutely love this recipe!!! i don't think i will ever buy store-made granola bars again. the variety you can create is ENDLESS - choc chips, nuts, dried fruits, m+m's, cereal, marshamllows...and on and on! my only complaint is that i think the 2 cups of add-in's is too high - when i make them with chocolate chips, 1 cup is plenty (and i love chocolate!). otherwise i think they turn into a dessert bar. but my kids enjoy them, i love them... i will be making these regularly for a very long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I had so much hope for this recipe , but it turned out so dry , i baked it for 18 minutes but it didnt cook and it didnt hold , so i pured a can of condensed milk evenly on the top and baked it for an extra 10 minutes for 325 and it turned so tasty and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
after i put in all the basic ingredients i split the batter in half and in one half added chocolate chips and peanut butter and in the other half craisins and chocolate chips to make my entire family happy. they were a hit! gone in a matter of hours!! though i was looking for something slightly healthier and these tasted sweet.. but my siblings loved them! i guess they will be just a healthier alternative to a dessert! try adding rice krispies.. they add a nice crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by find recipes!!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is a great basic granola bar recipe. it's much better than the more popular "playgroup granola bar" recipe on this site, which, in my opinion, is kinda gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States