Chewy Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
I made this recipe using blackstrap molasses for the molasses and substituted 4 ounces of applesauce for 4 of the tablespoons of butter. It is delicious. I also cooked them for 7 minutes instead of 11 at the recommended temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Delicious flavor, but do NOT use 4 cups of flour or they will be dry (like a lot of the reviews have stated). I found that 3 cups is all you need. The dough is softer and they come out very chewy. I also subbed 1/4 cup brown sugar because I like a chewier cookie. I always use some whole wheat flour too. You can't even tell the difference in this cookie. Also do NOT overbake. I baked mine for no longer than 9 mins, and they were just starting to firm up. That is the perfect time to take them out of the oven. With less flour and less baking time, they are very chewy and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
this is the new famly favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Great texture...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
I am sorry but I truly enjoyed this recipe, as did my children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
this is a great cookie! my kids looooooooved it, as did my husband...it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I used all 4 cups of flour and countered it with 1 more egg and it was great love it loved it loved it lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
These cookies were really tasty, nice and chewy with a bold flavor. I used a robust molasses, which turned out really nicely. When I originally made these cookies, I didn't add in the last bit of flour as the recipe states to in step one. I skipped it, totally accidentally - and at the end I wondered why I had extra flour measured out. BUT, they turned out beautifully. Nice and moist and chewy. I underbaked them slightly on purpose just to ensure they were tender. Great recipe, am making them again right now to give away as Christmas treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zozobean04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This recipe was a little too dry and the texture was not chewy. Just Okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
i made these with a peach brandy frosting on top, which was excellent. the cookies were very chewy, which i enjoyed, but as other's have stated- the dough was too hard to work with and too floury they tasted very bland. i'll stick to regular crunchy gingersnaps from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States