Chewy Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
this is a great cookie! my kids looooooooved it, as did my husband...it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
this is the new famly favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
I made this recipe using blackstrap molasses for the molasses and substituted 4 ounces of applesauce for 4 of the tablespoons of butter. It is delicious. I also cooked them for 7 minutes instead of 11 at the recommended temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Delicious!!! I followed the recipe completely. Cookies were nice and chewy! Not dry at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Great texture...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
I am sorry but I truly enjoyed this recipe, as did my children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Delicious flavor, but do NOT use 4 cups of flour or they will be dry (like a lot of the reviews have stated). I found that 3 cups is all you need. The dough is softer and they come out very chewy. I also subbed 1/4 cup brown sugar because I like a chewier cookie. I always use some whole wheat flour too. You can't even tell the difference in this cookie. Also do NOT overbake. I baked mine for no longer than 9 mins, and they were just starting to firm up. That is the perfect time to take them out of the oven. With less flour and less baking time, they are very chewy and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I used all 4 cups of flour and countered it with 1 more egg and it was great love it loved it loved it lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
These cookies were really tasty, nice and chewy with a bold flavor. I used a robust molasses, which turned out really nicely. When I originally made these cookies, I didn't add in the last bit of flour as the recipe states to in step one. I skipped it, totally accidentally - and at the end I wondered why I had extra flour measured out. BUT, they turned out beautifully. Nice and moist and chewy. I underbaked them slightly on purpose just to ensure they were tender. Great recipe, am making them again right now to give away as Christmas treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zozobean04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This recipe was a little too dry and the texture was not chewy. Just Okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States