Chewy Ginger Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Wonderful! I was out of allspice so I left that out, and I used the crystallized ginger. I also did that thing where you roll the balls in sugar before you bake them. Mine were done a little ahead of the ten minutes, but I think that's my oven. Perfect blend of crispy/chewy with a good ginger flavor, everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Very good recipe. I omitted the crystallized ginger and dipped cookie dough ball in sugar before baking. Nice and chewy, but I do think I'll lower the amount of ginger by about 30%. They have some heat to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
The texture was absolutely perfect. The only thing I'd do differently next time is cut the ginger in half. I didn't add the crystallized ginger and still I think 4 tsp of ground ginger is just way too much. All other recipes use about the same ratio of ginger to other spices or they use more cinnamon actually. I could only eat one or two cookies in one sitting because the ginger was overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea Kozoriz
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Made them without the crystallized ginger, and rolled the balls in granulated sugar before baking. Turned out absolutely perfect! This recipe made 32 cookies with my small cookie scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Kozoriz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
The taste was great however, the cookies were flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I added 3 teaspoons ground ginger since the warning of the other person who thought it was too strong and then I flattened a good sized ball between my palms and this spliced it with a small gingerbread man cookie cutter. It cooked the same, 10 minutes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Porter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I love ginger but honestly, these cookies were a bit too strong for me. The "bite" from the ginger was too much so I'll probably use 3 teaspoons max next time. Also, teaspoon-sized balls were too small. The bottoms burnt and I had to throw about a dozen of them away. However, when I made them at least tablespoon-sized, the tops cracked, just like the directions said, and they turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RoxanneZYG
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I used brown sugar instead of white... Delicious! I would chill the batter next time to make it easier to roll into balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Delicious, chewy perfect ginger molasses cookies! The whole family loved them - sprinkled with sugar when I took them out of the oven for that extra touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I substituted coconut oil for the shortening and they turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States