Chewy Crispy Coconut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Yummy. Instead of dropping by teaspoon, I made mine about a large tablespoon size, baked 10-11 mins. Makes about 3 dozen. I think teaspoon size of dough would be very very small cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Recipe is OK but salty for my taste. The second time I omitted the salt, toasted the coconut as the oven was preheating, and substituted rice crispies because I prefer them to corn flakes and they're not coated in sugar. I used a cookie scoop for uniform size and baking time, plus a Silpat to slide them off. The trick is to take them out of the oven when they're golden brown but not completely done because they'll continue cooking. Perfect. Cookies disappeared in hours, and I don't have children. ;) This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
My 5 yr old daughter wanted to make coconut cookies, so we found this recipe and decided to whip up a batch. And are we glad we did, they came out AWESOME! There were a few changes to the original recipe, didn't have cornflakes, subbed Rice Krispys, lightly crushed...and my 5 year old accidentally added another teaspoon of vanilla...she also insisted we toss in some semi-sweet chocolate chips, lol...With my pain in the butt tricky oven, they took about 12 min total for a nice golden brown edge, and are the promised crispy chewy cookie! My hubby is SUPER picky about cookies, and almost always has a critique of my baking, he said these were PERFECT! I give it 5 stars, even with my revisions, because without the original recipe, I'd have had nothing to play with! Thanks Melissa, awesome recipe and I'll be putting a copy in my permanent cookie recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Great cookie! You can adjust this cookie to be more crispy or chewy based on how you measure your dry ingredients. For the standard recipe make sure you level off ALL of your dry ingredients with a knife for the most exact measurement. If you decide to toast the coconut, only toast 2/3 cup and leave the other 2/3 cup moist. Toasting your coconut will lessen the moisture in the cookie. I also cut back on the oatmeal just slightly. This is perfect with French vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEM2K

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Ohhh YUMMMMM! When I try a new dish, I like to follow the recipe exactly as written the first time around and then maybe will tweak it when making it again. That's what I did with these cookies -- followed the recipe exactly. I have nothing to change, I will save it exactly as it is and will continue to make it this way each time. The cookies came out crispy and chewy and wonderful. I wouldn't change a thing! I didn't get 5 dozen; closer to 3. Ok, I ate a LITTLE of the dough....and I made the first pan of cookies a little bigger..... No Matter! I loved these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicago Smiles
Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
These were really good, I'll probably make again if I have some coconut on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I made these cuz i had some coconut in my fridge that i wanted to use. I thought they turned out really good, and i made a few variations. I also used Crispix (had it on hand) and added chocolate chips, and used a little less salt. they come out plenty salty, and are nice and chewy/crispy. thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
LOVE these cookies! I did take a couple of the suggestions posted: use rice crispies and added chocolate chips. My husband is a picky eater and he couldn't get enough of these. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This cookie is perfectly cripsy due to the cereal (I used Crispix) and chewy due to the coconut and oatmeal. I made them because I was looking for a ranger cookie--something my grandmother made me, and this seemed closest to her recipe. I love this cookie and have been making it for 3 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Yum!!! but dont make too much they go off fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States