Chewy Crispy Coconut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This recipe is a must-try for coconut lovers! My family loved it! The taste of coconut with cornflakes and oatmeal is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I told my husband I was making these and he said not to use corn flakes so I doubled the rolled oats. I also substituted 1/2 of the butter with applesauce and used all white sugar (with a little extra). I also halved the salt as we were looking for sweet cookies. These were requested again and eaten right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Okay, I made this the first time with revisions. I did give it 5 stars due to the fact that my healthy version tasted so good that the original must, also. My changes: whole wheat flour for all purpose, Nature's Path Smart Bran cereal for the cornflakes, 1/4 cup Brummell and Brown Yogurt spread and 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce for the butter, 1/2 cup Splenda and 1/4 cup Splenda Brown Sugar Blend, 1 cup unsweetened coconut flakes, and added 1/3 cup dark chocolate chips. I baked for the recommended cooking time and they were perfect. My husband usually hates "healthified" versions of treats, but really likes these. I haven't told him they contain a high fiber cereal...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Been using this recipe for a few years now, but I've always made it a little different. I thought I'd share that difference that turns these cookies from good to great. It's simple enough, just use a whole bag of flaked coconut instead of 1 1/3c. It's a heck of a lot more and your cookies will look much different, but once that butter and sugar caramelizes the coconut you're left with a crunchy, delicious treat that people will ask for over and over again. This makes a spectacular christmas cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I had high hopes for these cookies, they were delicious but just a tad bit too salty. I could barely taste the brown sugar and the sugar, I'm thinking maybe it needed a little more sugar...but overall they are tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I just got done baking these with my daughter and her cousin. All we can say is... YUMMMM! They turned out beautifully and taste just like the ones I used to make as a kid. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Very, very sweet & very salty. This has potential with changes. LOVE the crispiness! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Subbed Frosted Flakes as we were out of Corn Flakes. Really exceptional cookie! About the only thing we'd do different is the addition of chocolate to make these off-the-chart delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bethel, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I make this recipe all the time! They are awesome! I only use 1 cup coconut. My husband is a cookie monster and one day I took these to work and left only 4 at home. I thought I was going to divorce court!!! I told him they were for a potluck at work!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela J Hagen-French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
These are a great little cookie. It reminded me of a oatmeal cookie with a little more crunch. This one is a keeper for my recipe box, but I think next time I will make the cookie larger with a chocolate chip, raisin, or butterscotch chip. To me it needed something more. Hope that helps! Happy baking =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States