Chewy Crispy Coconut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I toasted 1 1/3 cups of coconut flakes in the oven at 350 for 10 minutes. I also threw in the remainder of the coconut flakes that were left in the 7 ounce Baker's Coconut package. I baked the first batch at 10 minutes because I like my cookies a little chewy. The rest I baked at the full 12 minutes for a more crispier texture. The cookies don't spread out too much. I ended up with 36 coconut cookies. They hold their round shape nicely. I could see some of the coconut flakes were lightly brown at the edges - nice! I do think toasting the coconut flakes gives this a slight "coconutty" flavor, however it is not necessary and the cookies would be just as good even if this extra step was not taken. The cookie is slightly crispy and when I tried the other batch that was baked the full 12 minutes, I found it the same- slightly crispy only darker in color. I like the texture that the cornflakes adds. The ingredients and directions were approximate. These were definitely chewy, moist and delicious cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Very good. Lovely coconut taste, and even though I didn't really crush the cereal, it didn't matter. I baked as directed and got a nice, soft cookie. Mine didn't burn or get too hard, so it works for me. Bf and coworkers gobbled them up. Thanks for the reicpe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Great recipe! I cooked each batch only 9 minutes due to burning. Make sure you store these right away. I left some out for 40 minutes and they softened up and were not crispy anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corralitos, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This recipe is a must-try for coconut lovers! My family loved it! The taste of coconut with cornflakes and oatmeal is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I told my husband I was making these and he said not to use corn flakes so I doubled the rolled oats. I also substituted 1/2 of the butter with applesauce and used all white sugar (with a little extra). I also halved the salt as we were looking for sweet cookies. These were requested again and eaten right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Okay, I made this the first time with revisions. I did give it 5 stars due to the fact that my healthy version tasted so good that the original must, also. My changes: whole wheat flour for all purpose, Nature's Path Smart Bran cereal for the cornflakes, 1/4 cup Brummell and Brown Yogurt spread and 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce for the butter, 1/2 cup Splenda and 1/4 cup Splenda Brown Sugar Blend, 1 cup unsweetened coconut flakes, and added 1/3 cup dark chocolate chips. I baked for the recommended cooking time and they were perfect. My husband usually hates "healthified" versions of treats, but really likes these. I haven't told him they contain a high fiber cereal...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Been using this recipe for a few years now, but I've always made it a little different. I thought I'd share that difference that turns these cookies from good to great. It's simple enough, just use a whole bag of flaked coconut instead of 1 1/3c. It's a heck of a lot more and your cookies will look much different, but once that butter and sugar caramelizes the coconut you're left with a crunchy, delicious treat that people will ask for over and over again. This makes a spectacular christmas cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I had high hopes for these cookies, they were delicious but just a tad bit too salty. I could barely taste the brown sugar and the sugar, I'm thinking maybe it needed a little more sugar...but overall they are tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I just got done baking these with my daughter and her cousin. All we can say is... YUMMMM! They turned out beautifully and taste just like the ones I used to make as a kid. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Very, very sweet & very salty. This has potential with changes. LOVE the crispiness! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States