Chewy Crispy Coconut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Once again, an excellent cookie. Crisp on the outside , chewy in the middle. I took another's advice and toasted the coconut. Great! I also made one batch basic, another with a chunk of caramel in the middle, and the last with choclate chips in it. Can't decide which one is best! A winner. Would be great dressed up for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
These cookies are fantastic! My husband even likes them and he doesn't care for coconut. I toasted the coconut like some other reviews have suggested but didn't make any other changes. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsuever

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Perfect texture as is! I always make a double batch, but use half the baking powder, double the vanilla and use no salt. I pressed down on the cookies before putting them in over & baked at 360 for 12 min. Addicting!! I wouldn't substitute anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammie Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
These were great! Chewy at first, they became crisp over time. Great with either texture! I used packed teaspoons & was careful to not overbake. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
These were so yummy! I only had half of the vanilla extract on hand so I used 1/2 almond extract. Coconut almond? Delicious! I think I'll make it that way from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherriel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I've been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. It's one of my favorite cookies. My husband likes the recipe as is, but I like to add butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
very good! the only change that i made was to reduce the coconut to 1 cup (it just made sense to have them all the same!) i also used a very small ice cream scoop to measure them out, so i got 58 cookies, and they took about 7 minutes to bake. my daughter and her boyfriend just ate the entire first pan right out of the oven (18 cookies!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Yummy. Instead of dropping by teaspoon, I made mine about a large tablespoon size, baked 10-11 mins. Makes about 3 dozen. I think teaspoon size of dough would be very very small cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Recipe is OK but salty for my taste. The second time I omitted the salt, toasted the coconut as the oven was preheating, and substituted rice crispies because I prefer them to corn flakes and they're not coated in sugar. I used a cookie scoop for uniform size and baking time, plus a Silpat to slide them off. The trick is to take them out of the oven when they're golden brown but not completely done because they'll continue cooking. Perfect. Cookies disappeared in hours, and I don't have children. ;) This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
My 5 yr old daughter wanted to make coconut cookies, so we found this recipe and decided to whip up a batch. And are we glad we did, they came out AWESOME! There were a few changes to the original recipe, didn't have cornflakes, subbed Rice Krispys, lightly crushed...and my 5 year old accidentally added another teaspoon of vanilla...she also insisted we toss in some semi-sweet chocolate chips, lol...With my pain in the butt tricky oven, they took about 12 min total for a nice golden brown edge, and are the promised crispy chewy cookie! My hubby is SUPER picky about cookies, and almost always has a critique of my baking, he said these were PERFECT! I give it 5 stars, even with my revisions, because without the original recipe, I'd have had nothing to play with! Thanks Melissa, awesome recipe and I'll be putting a copy in my permanent cookie recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States