Chewy Coconut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I like how easy this recipe is but I did find it lacking in coconut flavor. I do think swapping coconut extract for the vanilla would help and toasting the coconut would help as well. I will make them again and see how they taste with those changes. I did find that putting the dough in the fridge helped prevent flatness and spreading. Overall a very good recipe that my coconut loving mother enjoyed, but it does need a little 'oomph' to take it to five stars. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! I made it as directed with one change. I wanted to make the dough go farther so I added a cup of cereal with the coconut. I had Tropical Blend Honey Bunches of Oats on hand so that's what I used. The mango flavor of the cereal went great with the coconut. Can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrommyMommy
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I made 9 dozen of these cookies for a school bake sale. I found that following the original recipe produced a flatter, slightly too sweet & oily cookie. With the next batch I added 1/4 c. flour and omitted the white sugar entirely, as I was using sweetened coconut flakes. I also increased the vanilla to 1 tsp. This produced a more dome-shaped cookie, and the flavor was just right for me. To get 3 dozen from each batch I refrigerated the dough for an hour, then rolled it into 1 to 1 1/4 inch balls and baked at 350 degrees for 11 minutes. With the original recipe this produced flatter 2 1/4 inch cookies; with the revised recipe the same sized dough balls produced 1 3/4 inch mounded cookies. (If I succeeded in uploading a comparison photo you'll see the original cookie on left and the revised recipe on right.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
These were very yummy..something different,i loved the chewey texture of the coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This is a keeper. I substituted applesauce for 1/4 of the butter and they turned out perfect and a lowfat version, I may add! I also through some rice krispies in the mix going off another reviewers remarks. I loved the added crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This was a wonderful recipe! Very easy and I all I did was add a dash more vanilla. Then again I add that to everything. Delicious, fast and easy, highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
really nice... the ingredients were correct and cookies came out perfect..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trimom
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I added one egg and enough flour to make the dough of rolling consistency. I rolled out the dough and cut out round shapes and placed on parchment lined cookie sheets. I sprinkled with sugar and baked about 8 minutes. This resulted in a wonderful cookie which was crisp on the outside and soft and chewy on the inside. Saved the recipe to my favourites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trimom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Absolutely love these. I added some chocolate chips to some of the cookies. So delicious either way! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe. I've made it a total of 6 times for.family and friends and have not ever had a complaint. Everyone who likes coconut should try. This is even a lighter taste than most coconut cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,078) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States