Chewy Coconut Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Followed the advice of others who've tried this before so used the 1 1/2 c flour and 1 1/2 c coconut---seems great; I didn't have coconut extract so added a few drops of almond extract and chopped up some chocolate chips in the chopper and added them to the mix; baked 9 minutes in my 350 oven--cooled outside where the temp is 30 F degrees; my daughter said it was her favorite cookie out of the 6 other varieties we've made this week! Will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Loved this recipe, could be our new favorite. Made it exactly as written and they came out delicious, chewy and very "coconutty". We tried adding some walnuts and chocolate chips to the very last batch into the oven and didn't like them as well, the chocolate chips made the cookies too sweet. I may try substituting some coconut oil for the butter in the next batch we make which will be soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
These cookies are excellent and extremely easy to make. Mine came out not only very nice looking but also delicious! I read some reviewers' recommendations and tweaked the recipe a bit: I used canola oil (1/2 cup) instead of butter and baking powder instead of baking soda. I added another 1/2 tsp of vanilla and an extra 1/4 cup of flour. Perfection, let me tell you. I got 14 cookies in total but it's because I made them a bit larger (used my hands instead of a scoop). Baked them for exactly 13 minutes. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mnb
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Excellent - no change made to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
These are my "go to" cookies for whenever I need something to make. They are always a hit and have never let me down. Every time I make them I get complimented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
EDIT: 5 STARS: I'm not a big fan of coconut, but I followed the recipe exactly and my husband ate them all in one day. Good enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Amazing! Made these for a little something different to add to my holiday cookie tray, and I am so glad I did. These were an absolute hit! Of everything I made (7 types of cookies) these were the first to go at 2 separate events!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purple_inferno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Buttery, chewy, and delicious! I use AirBake insulated pans and found I had to increase the bake time 2-3 min. to get them lightly toasted, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Dean Britt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I was a little apprehensive, but these cookies turned out really good. I reduced the cook time to 7 minutes and they came out perfect. They are almost a cross between a butter cookie and a macaroon. Next time, I'm going to put almonds or macadamia nuts in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
These are fantastic! I baked them a bit longer because they seemed too soft, but I use stoneware which often takes longer. I might half dip in some chocolate just to look prettier, but they are pretty great as is. We were thinking a single macadamia nut pressed in the middle might be nice too next time, or possibly a lime glaze. These are definitely making it into my regular rotation. Love them. I would like to tinker with the sugar content though, it's pretty high for my preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States