Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
Followed the recommendations of others and added more coconut. I used half the sugar, with a stevia and raw sugar blend. The kids loved it! Thank you for the easy and yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This recipe is delicious when made with the recommended changes. Definitely need to at least double the amount of coconut in it. I left out the nuts and used half vanilla extract half almond extract. I also found that cooking it for 30 minutes was perfect. Not under baked and not over baked. More like a cookie bar, which I like! I will make again with the above changes every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I followed the advise of many other reviews and I substituted butter for the shortening and I added more coconut. They turned out amazing!! I will definitely make these agin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I made this for a gathering we hosted last night because I was craving coconut. We can't get walnuts where we are, so I increased chocolate and coconut. I also used butter instead of shortening. The bars disappeared with everyone raving about them. The cooking time for me was quite a bit longer than stated, so keep an eye on the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
The batter was good, but I found the actual bars kind of bland, and a bit dry. I don't think I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
These were good but not great. I used butter instead of shortening and added 1 cup of coconut. I still feel like it needed more coconut. Next time I'll use 1 1/2 cups of coconut and maybe some coconut extract would help too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
These were good but a bit too gooey in the center for my faste. They also were very rich and a bit too sweet. Better to scale back on the sweetness a little, make sure you cook completely and cut in very small pieces because a little bit goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
More coconut (at least a cup), use butter instead of shortening, add a little more vanilla, and decrease the sugar. Wow, suuuper sweet the first time I made them. I also used milk chocolate chips just because :) very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PowerPointGuru
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
These were great with a little alteration to make them healthier. I substituted honey for the sugar and added flax seed and vanilla protein powder which allowed me to cut back on the flour (I used bread flour). I used coconut oil instead of shortening and put it all in a 9x9 pan at 375 degrees for 23 minutes. They came out perfect and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PowerPointGuru

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This is a huge hit at home and in the office at work. I double the coconut and walnuts because my house loves them like crazy. I can't keep it in the house and was hounded to hurry up and make more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States