Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
More coconut (at least a cup), use butter instead of shortening, add a little more vanilla, and decrease the sugar. Wow, suuuper sweet the first time I made them. I also used milk chocolate chips just because :) very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PowerPointGuru
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
These were great with a little alteration to make them healthier. I substituted honey for the sugar and added flax seed and vanilla protein powder which allowed me to cut back on the flour (I used bread flour). I used coconut oil instead of shortening and put it all in a 9x9 pan at 375 degrees for 23 minutes. They came out perfect and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PowerPointGuru

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This is a huge hit at home and in the office at work. I double the coconut and walnuts because my house loves them like crazy. I can't keep it in the house and was hounded to hurry up and make more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Very good. It's like a gooey chocolate cookie with coconut. So moist and delish. Will be making this again and yes I would add extra coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
These are so good! They're moist, yet chewy and the combination of the coconut, chocolate chips and walnuts is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMSARAC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Very good. I took others suggestions and added an extra 1/2 tsp of salt, extra tsp vanilla and extra coconut (1 cup total). I also did not have enough brown sugar so I did 1 cup brown and a 1/2 cup coconut sugar....I didn't think it needed two whole cups anyhow. I also used coconut oil in place of shortening. Everyone in my family is enjoying them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Good chewy bar that isn't overly sweet. I was looking for a coconut bar but didn't want chocolate chips. The reviews seemed to all agree on butter and more coconut. I used white chocolate chips and was careful to not over bake them. They came out great. I plan to make again with white chocolate and macadamia nuts and then with the other suggestions of butterscotch chips. I think several different chip/nut combos would be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
these were far too sweet..all I could taste was the brown sugar in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
It is ok. Not real chewy, more like a cookie. The chocolate doesn't add much. Would only make again with modicatons.....more coconut, less chocolate, and shorter bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I thought it was very bland. Not impressed with the texture either. I used high quality chips, and it still seemed to lack in flavor. Barely tasted the coconut. Will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States