Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Very good. I took others suggestions and added an extra 1/2 tsp of salt, extra tsp vanilla and extra coconut (1 cup total). I also did not have enough brown sugar so I did 1 cup brown and a 1/2 cup coconut sugar....I didn't think it needed two whole cups anyhow. I also used coconut oil in place of shortening. Everyone in my family is enjoying them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Good chewy bar that isn't overly sweet. I was looking for a coconut bar but didn't want chocolate chips. The reviews seemed to all agree on butter and more coconut. I used white chocolate chips and was careful to not over bake them. They came out great. I plan to make again with white chocolate and macadamia nuts and then with the other suggestions of butterscotch chips. I think several different chip/nut combos would be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
these were far too sweet..all I could taste was the brown sugar in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
It is ok. Not real chewy, more like a cookie. The chocolate doesn't add much. Would only make again with modicatons.....more coconut, less chocolate, and shorter bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I thought it was very bland. Not impressed with the texture either. I used high quality chips, and it still seemed to lack in flavor. Barely tasted the coconut. Will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
These were good. I felt that 1 1/2c sugar would have been too sweet for us combined with the chocolate chips and the coconut so I cut it back to about 3/4c. Next time I would cut the chocolate back to 1c but I'm also not a huge chocolate fan. There was just enough coconut flavor without being overwhelming. Served with a scoop of lite vanilla ice cream. Definitely keep it in mind for next time. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I've made these several times and always a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
It was good and easy to make but you couldn't taste the coconut. Next time I'll either omit the coconut or add 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I thought this recipe was great! I only made two modifications: i used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 cups white flour, and i just put coconut flakes, white choclate chips, and a handfull of dark chocolate chips, no nuts. I only changed it for my personal preference, but I'm sure it's just as good exactly as the recipes reads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is a blondie. I make them with unsweetened coconut (all I can get in Zimbabwe) and pecans. Don't over bake. They're nicest when they're chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States