Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
These turned out perfectly! Very easy to make, and really tasty. They won't last long at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
I took these bars to a youth gathering at our church and they disappeared very fast! I was afraid they were going to turn out like chocolate chip pan-cookies, but they were sooooooo much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Delicioso!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Pretty good cookies. They were a little crumbly around the edges and I didn't think the dough part of the recipes was as good as it could have been, but the nuts, coconut and chocolate made up for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
I thought these were sort of bland, yet my husband thought they were great! I even threw in some extra coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I have made these bars many times and always receive a request for the recipe. They are great and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This is an easy, tasty recipe that gives a unique twist to the typical cookie bar. Although I didn't find the bars particularly chewy, they had a hearty, brownie-like consistency that was still appealing. (My husband absolutely adored them and raved that they were even better than chocolate chip cookies!) However, I did make a few modifications to the recipe. First, I used butter-flavored shortening instead of regular shortening to kick up the flavor a bit. (I think it might be a little bland without the butter flavor.) Also, I included a full cup of coconut and a full cup of nuts (pecans) to add more texture and up the taste a bit. When I make it again, I will probably increase the salt to a full teaspoon and increase the vanilla to two teaspoons for an extra punch of flavor. Overall, it's not a low-cal recipe, but it's definitely a yummy excuse to be a bit naughty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
These things are scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
We loved this. It was easy, quick and delicious. I'm so glad I didn't take the lazy way out and reach for the brownie mix instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This recipe got 5 stars in my household and you can't just eat one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States