Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My kids loved these bars. I made them for their school and the pans came back empty. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
VERY tasty! With a few of the suggested changes, these bars came out super great--very moist and chewy, without being overly sweet. I used regular butter instead of shortening, increased salt to 1 tsp, vanilla to 2 tsp, decreased choc chips to 1 c. (I used mini morsels) and increased coconut to 1 c. I left out the nuts 'cuz the kids aren't too fond of them, but I'm sure these would be great with either pecans or walnuts. These were SO easy to make and I can tell that they would travel well for a camping snack, school lunch or for a get-together. I ended up cutting these into 32 bars, and that seems to be a perfect size, that way I don't feel so guilty about eating two...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
My husband and I love the Chocolate Chip Paradise Pie that they serve at Chili's. I went serching for a recipie that I could make at home...and this is it! Try a slice with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top...it is fabulous :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
These are WONDERFUL! Thank you to the person who shared this recipe!! I used pecans instead of walnuts and 1 C of coconut and they were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
these were quite easy to make and very delicious. I personally wouldn't add quite as many chocolate chips as I found the recipe not sticking together very well at the end and the chocolate chips ended up in chunks but the cookies tasted great and were a hit at my summer get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happy_haylee_3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I used butter instead of shortening and cut the recipe down by 2/3 as I was an egg short. Added more walnuts, coconut (gives it nice texture) and some frozen berries. Turned out with a soft, gooey centre. (nice if you like it that way!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I used 3/4 cup coconut, 1 whole tsp salt, left out choc chips because I didn't have any, left out one egg because I didn't have any, and decreased the flour/baking soda mixture just a little bit (maybe by about 1/2 cup)and these came out perfect. My whole family literally raved about them and they were gone in one hour. Then everyone asked for more! Next time I think I will try with chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I followed other readers suggestions and used butter flavored shortening,doubled the vanilla and salt,and added one and a half cups of coconut.The bars turned out to have good flavor,but were a little dry,and not chewy at all.A nice bar to have with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Use butter flavored shortening. I added 1 cup of coconut and no nuts (due to family intolerance) and this came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This last weekend we had a "Make something you have never made before" dinner. I made these bars and OMG they were a hit.I tweaked the recipie to my liking more coconut less chocolate chips. I came home with an empty pan. Thanks for the Excellent Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States