Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This is a great recipe! I used sliced almonds instead because the gal I was making them for cannot have walnuts. I put a whole bag of choc. chips and a whole bag of coconut in. It did not look done when the time was up so left them in a little while longer. I had great reviews on this bar. You cannot eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Byron Center, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
These are great! I love coconut so I slightly more than doubled the coconut and only used 1/2C of butter and half the brown sugar. Broke up a large bar of Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate for a chunk instead of chip and 10x10 for a little bit thicker bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charlotte1203
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I love chocolate, I love walnuts, and I really love coconut. How could I not love these bar cookies? They are absolutely fabulous. I did use butter flavor Crisco, and added probably an extra 1/2 cup coconut. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written. Thank you Myrtis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowellville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I thought these bars were delicious and so did everyone who ate one today. In my opinion, though, there wasn't enough coconut in them to call them chewy or coconut. They were more like a chocolate chip bar cookie with a little coconut in them. I will increase it to at least a cup the next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
quite good. might be too rich for me. might mix chocolate chips with white chocolate chips. cooking time was longer than what recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
These are INCREDIBLE. WOW. Probably the best bars I've ever had. I agree there wasn't enough coconut. I added 1 1/2 cups to my batch, but even then I could hardly taste it with the other flavours. I recommend toasting the coconut (on 350 for 8-10 minutes) before adding it to the batter. This will highlight the coconut flavour without having it take over everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valentine de Villefort

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
So good! I followed the advice of other reviewers and increased the salt to 1 tsp, and the vanilla to 2 tsp. I added about a third of a bag of coconut. One thing is to make sure you let these cool completely. I made mine at night and let them cool overnight. Trying to cut into them or eat them any sooner and you will have a gooey (but yummy) mess. I just had one this morning...oh so yummy! This was a great way to get rid of that opened bag of coconut and chocolate chips in the cupboard. One of my favorite flavor combos is coconut and chocolate - thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I wanted to make this recipe without wheat so I subbed oat flour, and then increased the baking powder to counteract the relative heaviness of oat flour. I don't think I needed to do this, in retrospect, because they turned out like cake! Very delicious cake! I did use 2 cups of brown sugar, but didn't pack it down. Also, I used coconut oil instead of shortening, since it has the same consistency and would bring out the coconut flavor. Only giving four stars because I made so many changes. Hoping this review helps others who may be thinking of going wheat-free or using coconut oil. It came out amazing and I definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Does need double the salt and vanilla. But good overall. If too sweet for you try using unsweetened coconut (try the health food section of your grocery store - my Fred Meyer (Kroger) sells it in bulk and in the Bob's Red Mill section.) Much less sweet and just keep the sugar the same. I too used butter flavored crisco. Won't be chewy if you use just plain butter. Toasting the nuts and coconut really helps the flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
These were good, but very sweet and rich. I definitely had to down these with a glass of milk. I gave them as Xmas presents and everybody liked them, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States