Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I subbed: whole-wheat flour, 1 3/4 cups natural turbinado sugar, Smart Balance 50/50 butter blend, 1 cup (unsweetened!) shredded coconut, 1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips. UNBELIEVEABLE!!! Rich, yummy, delish. Next time I will sub 1/2 cup rolled oats for 1/2 cup of the flour. Took 30+ minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bird
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
These are pretty good, but I haven't decided if I'll make them again. They were delicious the night I made them, but the next day, they weren't as good. The coconut flavor is definitely lacking, so I wouldn't describe them as "coconut bars." They're really more like a chocolate chip cookie bar with coconut...good but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bird
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I don't get it. Where is the "chewy" part? They are good, but taste like pieces of cake. I'm not sure what I did wrong because I did everything the recipe says, except used butter instead of shortening and more coconut and nuts then required. Any help on how I can make this chewier next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
These were pretty good. I used butter instead of shortening, doubled the vanilla and used 1 1/2 cups of coconut. I cooked them for longer than 25 minutes and they turned out quite gooey. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I make this all the time! It tastes like chocolate chip cookies without taking as long to make. I also use butter instead of shortening, double the coconut and nuts because we like them, and it doesn't seem to change the taste at all. I also use a whole bag of chocolate chips, simply because it is easier than measuring them out (and chocolate makes everything better!). Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Sooooo good...I too used butter and added extra coconut (about 1 1/2 cups total).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
These were really good but I can only give four stars because I made changes. I used all butter because that's what I had on hand. I used 1 cup coconut, 1 cup chocolate chips, 2 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. salt. I ended up cooking them about 10 minutes extra but my oven tends to be slow. These were good enough that next time I will leave out the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Very chewy, I agree, and we liked them. Bf told me he could barely taste the coconut even though I put in 1 c of it . . .perhaps it needs more. They were quite moist; I may have undercooked them, but I'm not too worried bc I used egg beaters and they're pasteurized. I used pecans instead of walnuts--don't have walnuts. I did use shortening as directed, but I buy the butter flavored shortening and use it as a matter or course so that probably helped with the flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
These are amazing! I'm so glad I followed the suggestions from other reviewers because they came out perfect with the changes. Here's what I did: replaced shortening with unsalted butter, increased the salt to 1 tsp. and the vanilla to 2 tsp., used a whole bag (2 cups) of choc. chips, one cup coconut, and omitted the nuts. I cooked the bars for 20 minutes, then sprinkled some coconut on top. I ended up cooking them for a total of 32 minutes and the coconut came out nicely browned on top. I will make these again! Just the thing for my gooey, chocolately craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States