Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I love this cookie! I have to say, however that I changed it a bit. Definitely double the coconut and use white chocolate chips instead. I got rave reviews with this version! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margretta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
These just tasted like regular chocolate chip cookies. They were good, but I couldn't taste the coconut, and I was just expecting something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was a simple recipe and a definite alternative to brownies or cookies. I did however find them quite dry. Next time a little more chocolate chips and a little less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
If it wasn't for the reviewer who suggested adding sweetened condensed milk to the top of these bars, I wouldn't have thought they were anything special. The dough is very good! Be sure to not overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aRbie5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Mine weren't chewy. Could have cooked them wrong though. Good Flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I used 1 cup nuts, 1 cup chocolate chips and 1 cup coconut. I also used butter instead of shortening. I've also made them using 1/2 chocolate chips and 1/2 white chocolate chips or butterscotch chips. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Yummy! I substituted butter for the shortening and increased the coconut to two cups, per the reviews. These are very good. The dough is a little plain but with all the other stuff in there, that's ok. I think next time I'll add some peanut butter to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thefayray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
wasn't a fan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Oh. my. goodness. If your craving is for something sweet, chocolatey, coconutey and chewy--this is the recipe for you! SO GOOD! I've made it several times, and it has always turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Food Junkie
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Yummy, yummy, yummy!!! I used butter flavored shortening, upped the coconut to 1 1/2 cups, salt to 1 tsp., and used the whole bag of chocolate chips. Chewy, gooey awesomeness!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Junkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States