Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
An Amazing taste and amazing texture look...Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and was extremely pleased with the resulting product. The kids and my husband absolutely loved it and I think this is the first non-pizza item that my 3 year old requests by name, and she's always asking for it. We'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Tasted pretty good.Toast the walnuts, so they dont have a raw flavor even after you bake. I also upped the amout of coconut to 3/4 cup for more coconut flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenmarea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Akasaka, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I made 2 batches of these, the first one I made as is but used a full cup of coconut and no nuts and the second batch I cut the chocolate chips to 1 cup and used 1 cup of coconut and no nuts. The batch with just 1 cup of chips was much better and stil very rich and sweet. I don't think that 1/2 cup of coconut is enough even 1 cup almost isnt enough. It's hard to taste any coconut over the chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Very good - like a chewy, chocolate chip cookie bar or blondie, BUT a little bland since the shortening has no salt or flavor. You will need to double the salt and vanilla. If using salted butter, keep salt as is, only increase vanilla. If you have it, use real butter. I also increased the coconut to 1 full cup. You can also use butterscotch or peanut butter chip for variety. Super easy and very chewy and moist. Will definitely make again (using only butter though!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Just delicious! I didn't change much. As someone else suggested, I added 1/2 tsp. each of vanilla and almond extract. I also switched the quantity of nuts and coconut. I mixed chocolate chips and M & Ms to make the 1 1/2 cup of chocolate as well. I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I made these for a church get-together and they were a big hit! I used butter instead of shortening, increased the coconut to 1 cup, left out the nuts and used 1/2 almond extract and 1/2 vanilla. They were amazing. My husband is VERY picky about his cookies, and he loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kherder330

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staples, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
These Really Are Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
These were very good but I should have taken them out of the oven a few minutes before I did. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Very easy to make and sooo good...added extra chocolate chips and coconut because we don't like nuts.. this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States