Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
These were good and moist. I cooked mine in Stoneware so I cooked closer to 30 minutes and still perfectly chewy! Thing I changed were using milk chocolate morsels, rather than semi-sweet and I used 3/4 cup milk chocolate morsels and 3/4 cup of white chocolate morsels as that is what I had on hand..And I used chopped pecans instead of walnuts. These are VERY rich! And tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
My kids loved 'em! They were really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Absolutely the best! My husband and kids love these and they are not huge fans of coconut. I use butter flavor shortening instead of regular. Also use 1.5 C coconut, 1 C walnuts, and 3/4 C dark chocolate chips so the chocolate flavor doesn't dominate the coconut and up the baking time to 30 min. This recipe also works well as a regular cookie recipe if you thin the dough out with some milk (just a splash) and bake at 350 for about 11-13 min. This is now my "go to" chocolate chip cookie recipe. Very good, can't stop eating the dough! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniellaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
My husband has found a favorite dessert to make! He wanted something sweet that had coconut, chocolate & nuts altogether. TADA! He has made them 4 or 5 times and all of our friends gobble them up. He mainly sticks to the recipe, except he adds 1/4 cup extra of the chocolate chips, coconut & walnuts. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smiley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I was so excited to find this recipe, I had some leftover coconut I wanted to use but I didn't want a recipe with sweetened condensed milk, like most of the coconut bars include. I changed it a bit, I used 1/2 vegetable oil 1/2 butter, one bag of chocolate chips (11.5oz) and about one cup coconut (it was a bit more than 1/2 a bag) I also used about 1/2 a cup of pecans and didn't have vanilla extract (which I put in EVERYTHING whether it calls for it or not!) so I used 2 tsp. almond extract. They came out very chewy and delicious. The things that keep it from being 5 stars are things that are my fault, really. I don't like almond extract and although it seems to enhance the coconut flavor it seems to predominate the bars, of course that was my fault. Next time I will do everything the way I did this time except I will use 1 cup of pecans, 2 tsp. vanilla extract and 1/2 chocolate chips, 1/2 peanut butter chips. Then it will absolutely be the best cookie bar ever, for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Oh my word this recipe is so sweet! I only used 1 and 1/2 cups of sugar since I followed the recommendation by others to add more sweetened coconut and I was worried about too much sugar. And I had reason to be worried because the bars were overly sweet to my taste. Otherwise the texture and the taste were good... I followed the recipe other than than those two modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I did not make this recipe as stated, but with the tweaks, it's irresistable! Here were my changes: 1. I took the amount of flour as half flour half quick oats. (I like bars with oatmeal in them.) 2. I added about 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and about 1/4 tsp ground cloves, in an attempt to combat others criticisms of this being bland. 3. I followed other reviewers prompts to double the amounts of coconut, salt and vanilla. The result was YUMMY! I meant to only taste it as I was full from dinner, and I ate 2 bars. Gooey, tasty bars. It's true that even with double the coconut that coconut is not a very dominant flavor, so if you're looking for something super-coconutty, these are not your bars. But I think the coconut and the walnuts work very well together to make a delicious treat. Yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Very tasty, too much choclat chips and too little coconut. You don't taste the coconut. They are a bit too sweet for our taste. I will make it more often but with less choclat and sugar and more coconut. Anneke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly and really liked it. I made a variety of cookies/bars for Christmas this year and this one got rave reviews. Still, I think I agree with other users that it could've used a bit more zip. Not a nut person but will follow other suggestions and add a tad more vanilla and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Very easy, very good! Making another batch tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Seidenspinner Durjan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States