Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Absolutely the best! My husband and kids love these and they are not huge fans of coconut. I use butter flavor shortening instead of regular. Also use 1.5 C coconut, 1 C walnuts, and 3/4 C dark chocolate chips so the chocolate flavor doesn't dominate the coconut and up the baking time to 30 min. This recipe also works well as a regular cookie recipe if you thin the dough out with some milk (just a splash) and bake at 350 for about 11-13 min. This is now my "go to" chocolate chip cookie recipe. Very good, can't stop eating the dough! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniellaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
My husband has found a favorite dessert to make! He wanted something sweet that had coconut, chocolate & nuts altogether. TADA! He has made them 4 or 5 times and all of our friends gobble them up. He mainly sticks to the recipe, except he adds 1/4 cup extra of the chocolate chips, coconut & walnuts. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smiley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I was so excited to find this recipe, I had some leftover coconut I wanted to use but I didn't want a recipe with sweetened condensed milk, like most of the coconut bars include. I changed it a bit, I used 1/2 vegetable oil 1/2 butter, one bag of chocolate chips (11.5oz) and about one cup coconut (it was a bit more than 1/2 a bag) I also used about 1/2 a cup of pecans and didn't have vanilla extract (which I put in EVERYTHING whether it calls for it or not!) so I used 2 tsp. almond extract. They came out very chewy and delicious. The things that keep it from being 5 stars are things that are my fault, really. I don't like almond extract and although it seems to enhance the coconut flavor it seems to predominate the bars, of course that was my fault. Next time I will do everything the way I did this time except I will use 1 cup of pecans, 2 tsp. vanilla extract and 1/2 chocolate chips, 1/2 peanut butter chips. Then it will absolutely be the best cookie bar ever, for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Oh my word this recipe is so sweet! I only used 1 and 1/2 cups of sugar since I followed the recommendation by others to add more sweetened coconut and I was worried about too much sugar. And I had reason to be worried because the bars were overly sweet to my taste. Otherwise the texture and the taste were good... I followed the recipe other than than those two modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I did not make this recipe as stated, but with the tweaks, it's irresistable! Here were my changes: 1. I took the amount of flour as half flour half quick oats. (I like bars with oatmeal in them.) 2. I added about 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and about 1/4 tsp ground cloves, in an attempt to combat others criticisms of this being bland. 3. I followed other reviewers prompts to double the amounts of coconut, salt and vanilla. The result was YUMMY! I meant to only taste it as I was full from dinner, and I ate 2 bars. Gooey, tasty bars. It's true that even with double the coconut that coconut is not a very dominant flavor, so if you're looking for something super-coconutty, these are not your bars. But I think the coconut and the walnuts work very well together to make a delicious treat. Yummy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Very tasty, too much choclat chips and too little coconut. You don't taste the coconut. They are a bit too sweet for our taste. I will make it more often but with less choclat and sugar and more coconut. Anneke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly and really liked it. I made a variety of cookies/bars for Christmas this year and this one got rave reviews. Still, I think I agree with other users that it could've used a bit more zip. Not a nut person but will follow other suggestions and add a tad more vanilla and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Very easy, very good! Making another batch tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Seidenspinner Durjan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
An Amazing taste and amazing texture look...Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and was extremely pleased with the resulting product. The kids and my husband absolutely loved it and I think this is the first non-pizza item that my 3 year old requests by name, and she's always asking for it. We'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States