Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This recipe is delicious when made with the recommended changes. Definitely need to at least double the amount of coconut in it. I left out the nuts and used half vanilla extract half almond extract. I also found that cooking it for 30 minutes was perfect. Not under baked and not over baked. More like a cookie bar, which I like! I will make again with the above changes every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I followed the advise of many other reviews and I substituted butter for the shortening and I added more coconut. They turned out amazing!! I will definitely make these agin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I made this for a gathering we hosted last night because I was craving coconut. We can't get walnuts where we are, so I increased chocolate and coconut. I also used butter instead of shortening. The bars disappeared with everyone raving about them. The cooking time for me was quite a bit longer than stated, so keep an eye on the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
The batter was good, but I found the actual bars kind of bland, and a bit dry. I don't think I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
These were good but not great. I used butter instead of shortening and added 1 cup of coconut. I still feel like it needed more coconut. Next time I'll use 1 1/2 cups of coconut and maybe some coconut extract would help too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
These were good but a bit too gooey in the center for my faste. They also were very rich and a bit too sweet. Better to scale back on the sweetness a little, make sure you cook completely and cut in very small pieces because a little bit goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
More coconut (at least a cup), use butter instead of shortening, add a little more vanilla, and decrease the sugar. Wow, suuuper sweet the first time I made them. I also used milk chocolate chips just because :) very good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PowerPointGuru
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
These were great with a little alteration to make them healthier. I substituted honey for the sugar and added flax seed and vanilla protein powder which allowed me to cut back on the flour (I used bread flour). I used coconut oil instead of shortening and put it all in a 9x9 pan at 375 degrees for 23 minutes. They came out perfect and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PowerPointGuru

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This is a huge hit at home and in the office at work. I double the coconut and walnuts because my house loves them like crazy. I can't keep it in the house and was hounded to hurry up and make more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Very good. It's like a gooey chocolate cookie with coconut. So moist and delish. Will be making this again and yes I would add extra coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tai Yagle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States