Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I have made these bars many times and always receive a request for the recipe. They are great and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This recipe got 5 stars in my household and you can't just eat one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
These things are scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
I took these bars to a youth gathering at our church and they disappeared very fast! I was afraid they were going to turn out like chocolate chip pan-cookies, but they were sooooooo much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This is an easy, tasty recipe that gives a unique twist to the typical cookie bar. Although I didn't find the bars particularly chewy, they had a hearty, brownie-like consistency that was still appealing. (My husband absolutely adored them and raved that they were even better than chocolate chip cookies!) However, I did make a few modifications to the recipe. First, I used butter-flavored shortening instead of regular shortening to kick up the flavor a bit. (I think it might be a little bland without the butter flavor.) Also, I included a full cup of coconut and a full cup of nuts (pecans) to add more texture and up the taste a bit. When I make it again, I will probably increase the salt to a full teaspoon and increase the vanilla to two teaspoons for an extra punch of flavor. Overall, it's not a low-cal recipe, but it's definitely a yummy excuse to be a bit naughty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Delicioso!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
We loved this. It was easy, quick and delicious. I'm so glad I didn't take the lazy way out and reach for the brownie mix instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
These turned out perfectly! Very easy to make, and really tasty. They won't last long at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Very easy to make and sooo good...added extra chocolate chips and coconut because we don't like nuts.. this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
These Really Are Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States