Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This is a good recipe, but it is missing a few things. First of all, 1/2 cup of coconut is definitely not enough. I made these for a party, and I asked for everybody's opinion, and they all asked me why I called them Chewy Coconut Bars, as they could not taste the coconut. So, next time, I added 2 1/4 cups of shredded coconut, decreased the packed brown sugar by 1/4 cup, used 2 cups of milk chocolate chips (semisweet works fine too, but not as sweet. I substituted milk chocolate because I did not have semisweet on hand), used 1 cup of toasted chopped pecans, and substituted margarine for the shortening (I didn't have any shortening). That time, everyone raved about the bars. Thanks for the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Very good - like a chewy, chocolate chip cookie bar or blondie, BUT a little bland since the shortening has no salt or flavor. You will need to double the salt and vanilla. If using salted butter, keep salt as is, only increase vanilla. If you have it, use real butter. I also increased the coconut to 1 full cup. You can also use butterscotch or peanut butter chip for variety. Super easy and very chewy and moist. Will definitely make again (using only butter though!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
This is an easy, tasty recipe that gives a unique twist to the typical cookie bar. Although I didn't find the bars particularly chewy, they had a hearty, brownie-like consistency that was still appealing. (My husband absolutely adored them and raved that they were even better than chocolate chip cookies!) However, I did make a few modifications to the recipe. First, I used butter-flavored shortening instead of regular shortening to kick up the flavor a bit. (I think it might be a little bland without the butter flavor.) Also, I included a full cup of coconut and a full cup of nuts (pecans) to add more texture and up the taste a bit. When I make it again, I will probably increase the salt to a full teaspoon and increase the vanilla to two teaspoons for an extra punch of flavor. Overall, it's not a low-cal recipe, but it's definitely a yummy excuse to be a bit naughty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I made these for a church get-together and they were a big hit! I used butter instead of shortening, increased the coconut to 1 cup, left out the nuts and used 1/2 almond extract and 1/2 vanilla. They were amazing. My husband is VERY picky about his cookies, and he loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kherder330

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staples, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I made 2 batches of these, the first one I made as is but used a full cup of coconut and no nuts and the second batch I cut the chocolate chips to 1 cup and used 1 cup of coconut and no nuts. The batch with just 1 cup of chips was much better and stil very rich and sweet. I don't think that 1/2 cup of coconut is enough even 1 cup almost isnt enough. It's hard to taste any coconut over the chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
I took these bars to a youth gathering at our church and they disappeared very fast! I was afraid they were going to turn out like chocolate chip pan-cookies, but they were sooooooo much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I halved the recipe and used an 8 x 8 pan. The batter was very thick and the bars were dense and gooey. Very good. Too good. I made these a second time using the full recipe amount. I didn't have chocolate chips so I doubled the coconut and drizzled chocolate syrup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
We loved this. It was easy, quick and delicious. I'm so glad I didn't take the lazy way out and reach for the brownie mix instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I used butter instead of shortening and cut the recipe down by 2/3 as I was an egg short. Added more walnuts, coconut (gives it nice texture) and some frozen berries. Turned out with a soft, gooey centre. (nice if you like it that way!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Just delicious! I didn't change much. As someone else suggested, I added 1/2 tsp. each of vanilla and almond extract. I also switched the quantity of nuts and coconut. I mixed chocolate chips and M & Ms to make the 1 1/2 cup of chocolate as well. I will definately make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, New York, USA
Living In: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States