Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Excellent. Very yummy and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rodarte, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
YUM, you weren't kidding, you can't eat just one! These are so yummy. I did as suggested by some others and reduced the chocolate chips (to 1 c.) and increased the coconut (to 1 c.). I also only ever use barley flour and organic dark brown sugar for baking and this ruins some recipes... however this recipe worked great with these substitutions. I love how the tops of these glisten. I needed a nice bar to put on a tray for our new neighbours and I think this will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delburne, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My kids loved these bars. I made them for their school and the pans came back empty. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
VERY tasty! With a few of the suggested changes, these bars came out super great--very moist and chewy, without being overly sweet. I used regular butter instead of shortening, increased salt to 1 tsp, vanilla to 2 tsp, decreased choc chips to 1 c. (I used mini morsels) and increased coconut to 1 c. I left out the nuts 'cuz the kids aren't too fond of them, but I'm sure these would be great with either pecans or walnuts. These were SO easy to make and I can tell that they would travel well for a camping snack, school lunch or for a get-together. I ended up cutting these into 32 bars, and that seems to be a perfect size, that way I don't feel so guilty about eating two...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
My husband and I love the Chocolate Chip Paradise Pie that they serve at Chili's. I went serching for a recipie that I could make at home...and this is it! Try a slice with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top...it is fabulous :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
These are WONDERFUL! Thank you to the person who shared this recipe!! I used pecans instead of walnuts and 1 C of coconut and they were delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
these were quite easy to make and very delicious. I personally wouldn't add quite as many chocolate chips as I found the recipe not sticking together very well at the end and the chocolate chips ended up in chunks but the cookies tasted great and were a hit at my summer get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happy_haylee_3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I used butter instead of shortening and cut the recipe down by 2/3 as I was an egg short. Added more walnuts, coconut (gives it nice texture) and some frozen berries. Turned out with a soft, gooey centre. (nice if you like it that way!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I used 3/4 cup coconut, 1 whole tsp salt, left out choc chips because I didn't have any, left out one egg because I didn't have any, and decreased the flour/baking soda mixture just a little bit (maybe by about 1/2 cup)and these came out perfect. My whole family literally raved about them and they were gone in one hour. Then everyone asked for more! Next time I think I will try with chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I followed other readers suggestions and used butter flavored shortening,doubled the vanilla and salt,and added one and a half cups of coconut.The bars turned out to have good flavor,but were a little dry,and not chewy at all.A nice bar to have with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States