Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
My husband loved these! I did as others suggested and doubled the vanilla, salt and coconut and used a full cup of walnuts. I also used butter flavored shortening. I think the extra nuts and coconut are what made these more than just a chocolate chip cookie in a bar form. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I followed other suggestions and doubled the salt and the vanilla. I also doubled the coconut, added extra chocolate chips in the batter, and sprinkled chocolate chips on top. In the future I would add even more nuts for more crunch. Great recipe with modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This is a good recipe, but it is missing a few things. First of all, 1/2 cup of coconut is definitely not enough. I made these for a party, and I asked for everybody's opinion, and they all asked me why I called them Chewy Coconut Bars, as they could not taste the coconut. So, next time, I added 2 1/4 cups of shredded coconut, decreased the packed brown sugar by 1/4 cup, used 2 cups of milk chocolate chips (semisweet works fine too, but not as sweet. I substituted milk chocolate because I did not have semisweet on hand), used 1 cup of toasted chopped pecans, and substituted margarine for the shortening (I didn't have any shortening). That time, everyone raved about the bars. Thanks for the recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
A million stars for this one!! It's been a huge hit wherever I take it - thanks! I used butter instead of shortening, less sugar, upped the coconut to 1 c and probably put more chocolate chips in cuz that's just what i do....I have also made it with spelt flour and it still tasted amazing! THANK-YOU so much for sharing this goldmine!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STWALSH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Pretty good, was just a little disappointed that it wasnt as chewy as I had initially hoped. Came out a little cake-like. Will try some of the suggestions to make this better the next time I bake it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I halved the recipe and used an 8 x 8 pan. The batter was very thick and the bars were dense and gooey. Very good. Too good. I made these a second time using the full recipe amount. I didn't have chocolate chips so I doubled the coconut and drizzled chocolate syrup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Ditto with Kimberchic. With the additional salt, butter, and vanilla recommended by her, these bars were killer. I opted to use all butter (no shortening) and baked them for approximately twice the time in an 8x8 pan. The outcome was a super-thick, deliciously chewy bar with great texture. Highly recommend, although be careful how much you make...they are addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Although these bars were moist and cake-y like, all the additives (nuts, chocolates and coconut) were just too much and overwhelmed everyone's taste buds in my family. Sadly, most of the bars just went into the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Excellent. Very yummy and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rodarte, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
YUM, you weren't kidding, you can't eat just one! These are so yummy. I did as suggested by some others and reduced the chocolate chips (to 1 c.) and increased the coconut (to 1 c.). I also only ever use barley flour and organic dark brown sugar for baking and this ruins some recipes... however this recipe worked great with these substitutions. I love how the tops of these glisten. I needed a nice bar to put on a tray for our new neighbours and I think this will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delburne, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States