Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
These were really good but I can only give four stars because I made changes. I used all butter because that's what I had on hand. I used 1 cup coconut, 1 cup chocolate chips, 2 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. salt. I ended up cooking them about 10 minutes extra but my oven tends to be slow. These were good enough that next time I will leave out the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Very chewy, I agree, and we liked them. Bf told me he could barely taste the coconut even though I put in 1 c of it . . .perhaps it needs more. They were quite moist; I may have undercooked them, but I'm not too worried bc I used egg beaters and they're pasteurized. I used pecans instead of walnuts--don't have walnuts. I did use shortening as directed, but I buy the butter flavored shortening and use it as a matter or course so that probably helped with the flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
These are amazing! I'm so glad I followed the suggestions from other reviewers because they came out perfect with the changes. Here's what I did: replaced shortening with unsalted butter, increased the salt to 1 tsp. and the vanilla to 2 tsp., used a whole bag (2 cups) of choc. chips, one cup coconut, and omitted the nuts. I cooked the bars for 20 minutes, then sprinkled some coconut on top. I ended up cooking them for a total of 32 minutes and the coconut came out nicely browned on top. I will make these again! Just the thing for my gooey, chocolately craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Wow!!! These are great. Will be making them again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Wonderfully moist, chewy, and delicious! I substituted the butter for the shortening as suggested by others. Topped batter with extra chips, coconut, and nuts. I also drizzled a small amount of sweetened condensed milk over top after 10 minutes of baking time. Baked on lower rack of oven for 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Other than the fact that I had to put in waaay more coconut to be able to tell it was in there, this is a great recipe. Nice, moist, chewy bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This is a great recipe! I used sliced almonds instead because the gal I was making them for cannot have walnuts. I put a whole bag of choc. chips and a whole bag of coconut in. It did not look done when the time was up so left them in a little while longer. I had great reviews on this bar. You cannot eat just one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Byron Center, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
These are great! I love coconut so I slightly more than doubled the coconut and only used 1/2C of butter and half the brown sugar. Broke up a large bar of Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate for a chunk instead of chip and 10x10 for a little bit thicker bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charlotte1203
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I love chocolate, I love walnuts, and I really love coconut. How could I not love these bar cookies? They are absolutely fabulous. I did use butter flavor Crisco, and added probably an extra 1/2 cup coconut. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written. Thank you Myrtis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowellville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I thought these bars were delicious and so did everyone who ate one today. In my opinion, though, there wasn't enough coconut in them to call them chewy or coconut. They were more like a chocolate chip bar cookie with a little coconut in them. I will increase it to at least a cup the next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States