Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I love this cookie! I have to say, however that I changed it a bit. Definitely double the coconut and use white chocolate chips instead. I got rave reviews with this version! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margretta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
These just tasted like regular chocolate chip cookies. They were good, but I couldn't taste the coconut, and I was just expecting something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was a simple recipe and a definite alternative to brownies or cookies. I did however find them quite dry. Next time a little more chocolate chips and a little less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
If it wasn't for the reviewer who suggested adding sweetened condensed milk to the top of these bars, I wouldn't have thought they were anything special. The dough is very good! Be sure to not overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aRbie5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Mine weren't chewy. Could have cooked them wrong though. Good Flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I used 1 cup nuts, 1 cup chocolate chips and 1 cup coconut. I also used butter instead of shortening. I've also made them using 1/2 chocolate chips and 1/2 white chocolate chips or butterscotch chips. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Yummy! I substituted butter for the shortening and increased the coconut to two cups, per the reviews. These are very good. The dough is a little plain but with all the other stuff in there, that's ok. I think next time I'll add some peanut butter to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thefayray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
wasn't a fan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Oh. my. goodness. If your craving is for something sweet, chocolatey, coconutey and chewy--this is the recipe for you! SO GOOD! I've made it several times, and it has always turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Food Junkie
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Yummy, yummy, yummy!!! I used butter flavored shortening, upped the coconut to 1 1/2 cups, salt to 1 tsp., and used the whole bag of chocolate chips. Chewy, gooey awesomeness!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Junkie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States