Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
These are yummy. I agree they taste very much like cookies, but still good. I baked them at least 10 min longer than directed. I left out the nuts because i didn't have them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Good Base Mix for many variations. For my base (sugar, eggs, vanilla, shortening), I mixed 1/2C shortening, 3T butter and 2T margarine as the fat mixture. I find that this type of mixture allows for more flavor and also does well to create a moist batter, chewy texture with some density that doesn't make it too fluffy. I also made mine with Cherry and Butterscotch Chips (instead of the chocolate) and Doubled the Coconut as many others have also done. Mine turned out very well, although a little extra work with some mixing of ingredients I find that to make the ultimate recipe one must mix it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Excellent, I make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Very tasty, everyone liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovejam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cassadaga, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I was so disappointed with these! They turned out moist alright, mostly because they didn't cook all the way through. The outer edges were edible, although quite crunchy, but the middle was a gooey mess. I did double the coconut, like other reviews suggested. I could have cooked these even longer, but I would have had to sacrifice the edges for the middle and it just wasn't pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebby713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Good, need to add about a cup more coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I love this cookie! I have to say, however that I changed it a bit. Definitely double the coconut and use white chocolate chips instead. I got rave reviews with this version! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey Larsen Rasmussen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
These just tasted like regular chocolate chip cookies. They were good, but I couldn't taste the coconut, and I was just expecting something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was a simple recipe and a definite alternative to brownies or cookies. I did however find them quite dry. Next time a little more chocolate chips and a little less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
If it wasn't for the reviewer who suggested adding sweetened condensed milk to the top of these bars, I wouldn't have thought they were anything special. The dough is very good! Be sure to not overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aRbie5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States