Chewy Coconut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
ooooooh these are good! I increased coconut to just under 1.5 cups, this was a little too much, I decreased chips to 1 cup. I also did a heaping tsp salt, and 'heaping' tsp vanilla extract. Mine turned out like the pic for once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I've made these so many times now. The first time I made them they were great.I wanted to try a couple variations though. The only difference I do is I add in 1/4 tsp of coconut extract and 1/4 tsp of almond extract. Everyone at work absolutely loves these when I make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamer, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I read past reviews and customized this recipe. Make sure you "pack" the brown sugar, otherwise it does not taste sweet enough. Another suggestion would be just to add a little more brown sugar than called for. Substitute butter for the shortening. I used the entire package of chocolate chips, one cup chopped walnuts, and 2 cups shredded coconut. I baked it until the center stopped jiggling. Sounds crazy, but it worked. They take a long time to cool before you can cut them into bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Delicious! They taste like yummy chocolate chip cookies in bar form. I substituted butter for shortening and added more coconut. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I made these this week and must say that they are the absolute best for sure and deserve more stars than I can assign. I did use 3X the amt of coconut called for and went with the margarine as the fat. But they are just soooo soooo tasty. And, no, I couldn't eat just one. Thanks for the recipe, Myrtis. I'll be making these again and again. I gave some to a neighbor and she scarfed 'em down too. So next time, will be making 2 big batches. yum yum Bonnie N.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yoyo1198

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henderson, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Pretty good, but really just reminded me of a chocolate chip cookie with added coconut. I added some extra coconut on top, and this added to the coconut flavor when it toasted in the oven. Overall, a decent recipe, just not one that I would do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I added extra coconut as other reviewers suggested and they were a BIG hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
These are yummy. I agree they taste very much like cookies, but still good. I baked them at least 10 min longer than directed. I left out the nuts because i didn't have them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Good Base Mix for many variations. For my base (sugar, eggs, vanilla, shortening), I mixed 1/2C shortening, 3T butter and 2T margarine as the fat mixture. I find that this type of mixture allows for more flavor and also does well to create a moist batter, chewy texture with some density that doesn't make it too fluffy. I also made mine with Cherry and Butterscotch Chips (instead of the chocolate) and Doubled the Coconut as many others have also done. Mine turned out very well, although a little extra work with some mixing of ingredients I find that to make the ultimate recipe one must mix it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Excellent, I make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States