Chewy Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
Tried this recipe for the first time tonight, but made a few changes after reading the reviews. I used half butter and half shortning so my cookies wouldn't spread into pancakes. I also used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown so that they would be a little softer. Doubled up on the vanilla to put back the moisture lacking in the shortning. After this they turned out perfect. They spread a bit but are still nice and puffy, with no crunch at all! Excellent recipe with a few mod, will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
This Recipe was very good. Alot of you have said that they spread too much and are flat. I have been baking for years, and to keep any cookie from spreading flat while baking..... Chill the dough for an hour before baking. Trust me it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tamworth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2000
A bit different, but easy to make and tasty. I like chewy cookies and these definitely are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
These cookies tasted great BUT looked horrible, FLAT as a pancake. Perhaps more than 2 cups of flour would have helped?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
DISGUSTING!!! Ugh I really thought they would be good but my first batch spread so much that the whole pan was a big cookie so when i took it off it wasn't even totally cooked. So for the next batch I made the balls smaller and I cooked it for 2 minutes longer. They turned out as flat crispy "cookies". My family tried them and said that they were too rich and buttery. They were easy enough to make but cleaning the pan was a nightmare. I would not reccomed this recipe to any one with tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
I loved this recipe! Helpful hint: bake a test cookie first. If they spread too much when baking, add another tablespoon or so of flour so they hold their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
So, my husband has said "Oh man, I think these might be my favorites so far," (he always calls me "man" when he's impressed), and "Curse you, vile woman" as he just took his 8th, 9th, and 10th cookie. These must be a hit! They are serious spreaders, so you'll want to chill the dough for a while before you bake them. I happen to like flat, chewy cookies, but these were a little too flat for me without chilling first. Still...they are awesome. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Yum!!! Be careful not to overbake or make your cookies too big and you'll want to make these over and over again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
These were horrible. They tasted bad and looked awful. Even my kids wouldn't touch them. Not a good sign when a kid won't eat a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
You should definitely NOT MELT THE BUTTER in this recipe. It is almost exactly the recipe on the back of the "Reese's Peanut Butter Chips" bag...except in the Reese's recipe there is 1/4 c. LESS butter and it is certainly not melted. You should be able to "cream" the butter. I would recommend just buying the Reese's bag and following the recipe on the bag (although it, too, can be altered to taste...for example I usually use less sugar and sometime will do part white/part brown sugar.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States