Chewy Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
These were good but not great. I didn't think they were peanut buttery enough, which may have been the fault of the brand of peanut butter chips I used. I followed the recipe exactly and chilled the dough before baking, and I did not have any problems with the cookies spreading too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
this cookie recipe is amazing... reading the reviews i was shocked to see people not trying different ways to make a non spreading cookie. if you live at high altitude, add an extra 1/4 cup of all purpose flour or use the same measurements of self rising flour for a fluffier none spreading cookie :). also u can use a tad more baking soda if you prefer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Tasty...yes....a little flat....yes.....and I even used room temp butter instead of melting it and refrigerated the dough before baking....I just think there is too much butter in this recipe for me, a little greasy. I also used pb and chocolate chips. Thanks for the recipe. May try again and just use 2 sticks of butter instead of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I added about 1 1/2 cups of peanut butter instead of the chips, and ended up making cookie bars, for the dough was not thick enough, but it ended up really chewy and delicious. Not to sweet nor rich, but just that sweet tooth necessity! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I've made this a bunch of times with different results. The first time I used Reese's chips, and it was PERFECT. The next time, I used generic chips, and I couldn't figure out why the cookies didn't taste as wonderful. The reason was that the chips were softer and less cohesive once baked. It just made the cookies taste too gooey and buttery. I also figured out that 1 1/2 cups of butter was way too much butter. So, I just used a cup of butter the next time and they were much tastier. Next time, I'll go back to Reese's. One thing about these cookies is that they are very gooey with all of the butter in there. Be sure to refrigerate the dough for at least an hour to make sure they don't flatten out. Also, they may need more time to set before you transfer them to the rack. They tend to fall apart VERY easily when still hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
These are insane! I made them 100% as written but made them intp bar cookies. Buttered a 9 x 13 pan; spread the batter out and cooked for 30 minutes. Seriously, THESE ARE SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I made exactly as written and these do spread into little pancakes. It should be written into the recipe to chill the dough because not everyone reads a bunch of reviews before they start. I always read reviews so I chilled the rest of the dough (just had to do the initial test batch to see those results). They taste wonderful either way, chilled dough or not. Just not as pretty with room temp dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Okay, I changed a few things. I used 1 stick of Crisco shortening, 1 cup white sugar, 1 cup brown sugar and 2 teaspoons vanilla. I used my #50 cookie scoop (made 44 cookies), flattened slightly and baked @350 for 10minutes......Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krissi Miller
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very yummy! However, after the 2nd day, even when stored in a tight container and a piece of bread thrown in to combat drying, they still were dry. Tip: throw them in the microwave for 15 seconds and YUM YUM YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krissi Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Benson, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Delicious! The only thing I changed was that I used 1 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of shortening as I only had one cup of butter left; I also did a mix half white sugar and half brown sugar. This is the recipe I have been searching for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States