Chewy Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
Tried this recipe for the first time tonight, but made a few changes after reading the reviews. I used half butter and half shortning so my cookies wouldn't spread into pancakes. I also used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown so that they would be a little softer. Doubled up on the vanilla to put back the moisture lacking in the shortning. After this they turned out perfect. They spread a bit but are still nice and puffy, with no crunch at all! Excellent recipe with a few mod, will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
This Recipe was very good. Alot of you have said that they spread too much and are flat. I have been baking for years, and to keep any cookie from spreading flat while baking..... Chill the dough for an hour before baking. Trust me it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tamworth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2000
A bit different, but easy to make and tasty. I like chewy cookies and these definitely are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2003
I loved this recipe! Helpful hint: bake a test cookie first. If they spread too much when baking, add another tablespoon or so of flour so they hold their shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
These cookies tasted great BUT looked horrible, FLAT as a pancake. Perhaps more than 2 cups of flour would have helped?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
DISGUSTING!!! Ugh I really thought they would be good but my first batch spread so much that the whole pan was a big cookie so when i took it off it wasn't even totally cooked. So for the next batch I made the balls smaller and I cooked it for 2 minutes longer. They turned out as flat crispy "cookies". My family tried them and said that they were too rich and buttery. They were easy enough to make but cleaning the pan was a nightmare. I would not reccomed this recipe to any one with tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
So, my husband has said "Oh man, I think these might be my favorites so far," (he always calls me "man" when he's impressed), and "Curse you, vile woman" as he just took his 8th, 9th, and 10th cookie. These must be a hit! They are serious spreaders, so you'll want to chill the dough for a while before you bake them. I happen to like flat, chewy cookies, but these were a little too flat for me without chilling first. Still...they are awesome. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Yum!!! Be careful not to overbake or make your cookies too big and you'll want to make these over and over again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2001
These were horrible. They tasted bad and looked awful. Even my kids wouldn't touch them. Not a good sign when a kid won't eat a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
Great cookies! Everyone really enjoyed these. The texture was good, crisp outter rim and soft in the middle.But be warned the cookies must sit for a few minutes before removing from the pan to totally cool. Will make many many times to come. Thanx for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States