Chewy Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
After looking at the recipe and reading the reviews I knew I could solve the "pancake cookie" problem easily. Instead of using 1.5 CUPS of butter, just use 1 cup. Doing this made my cookies come out perfectly! They're soft, moist and just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shasta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellsworth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
AWESOME! I have been looking for a Chocolate Cookie recipe for years. I wanted one that tasted like the ones I got in Grammar School on Fridays. They were the best. Change the peanut butter to chocolate chips and you've got them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Witch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Ulrich1
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
YUMMY!! these are perfect! i halved the recipe because i only had a little less than a cup of peanut butter chips left so i added a little peanut butter to the dough as well and they came out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ulrich1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Giving it 4 stars only b/c I had to alter the recipe to get a better result. I, too, used 3/4c butter (not margarine) + 3/4c shortening, as well as, 1c wt. sugar + 1c brn. sugar. With these alterations, I didn't HAVE TO chill the dough. I planned doing so, but made a test batch 1st b/c I was too impatient. Even then cookies NEVER ran. I still did store in refrigerator while waiting them to bake. At first, I made small 2" cookies using the 1tsp scoop as directed, baking for 8 mins. But that took too long & we prefer the big cookies. Nervous about even baking & issues that often come up with large cookies, I eventually changed to using 1Tbls & flattening it out some (must do or will be uncooked in middle) and baking for about 12-13 minutes. Made perfect, large chewy yet crisp delicious cookies. W/out brown sugar-not as soft; with only butter-not worth attempting; chilling-as I made it, didn't seem to make a world of difference. **always be sure to allow pans to cool completely between baking times**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
These were good but not great. I didn't think they were peanut buttery enough, which may have been the fault of the brand of peanut butter chips I used. I followed the recipe exactly and chilled the dough before baking, and I did not have any problems with the cookies spreading too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
this cookie recipe is amazing... reading the reviews i was shocked to see people not trying different ways to make a non spreading cookie. if you live at high altitude, add an extra 1/4 cup of all purpose flour or use the same measurements of self rising flour for a fluffier none spreading cookie :). also u can use a tad more baking soda if you prefer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Tasty...yes....a little flat....yes.....and I even used room temp butter instead of melting it and refrigerated the dough before baking....I just think there is too much butter in this recipe for me, a little greasy. I also used pb and chocolate chips. Thanks for the recipe. May try again and just use 2 sticks of butter instead of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I added about 1 1/2 cups of peanut butter instead of the chips, and ended up making cookie bars, for the dough was not thick enough, but it ended up really chewy and delicious. Not to sweet nor rich, but just that sweet tooth necessity! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I've made this a bunch of times with different results. The first time I used Reese's chips, and it was PERFECT. The next time, I used generic chips, and I couldn't figure out why the cookies didn't taste as wonderful. The reason was that the chips were softer and less cohesive once baked. It just made the cookies taste too gooey and buttery. I also figured out that 1 1/2 cups of butter was way too much butter. So, I just used a cup of butter the next time and they were much tastier. Next time, I'll go back to Reese's. One thing about these cookies is that they are very gooey with all of the butter in there. Be sure to refrigerate the dough for at least an hour to make sure they don't flatten out. Also, they may need more time to set before you transfer them to the rack. They tend to fall apart VERY easily when still hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
These are insane! I made them 100% as written but made them intp bar cookies. Buttered a 9 x 13 pan; spread the batter out and cooked for 30 minutes. Seriously, THESE ARE SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States