Chewy Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
My history class really liked these cookies. I enjoyed them as well. The only problem was the fact that my first batch were a little crunchy.. maybe i shouldn't have baked them as long?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Kathy Jo was right. These cookies came out flatter than flat. Before baking, I chilled the dough as one reviewer suggested and even after the chilling, I noticed the dough was still soft. But I baked off a batch anyway. To make this recipe viable, I had to add 3/4 cup flour and 1/4 cup cocoa powder. To those who have had success with this recipe, I am glad. However, I baked these on a normal humidity day at an altitude that is within the average so I don't know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mumsy
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Tastes like a delicious chocolate peanut butter brownie. I decreased the butter to one cup, softened, and increased the baking time to twelve minutes because I prefer a crispier cookie. These are so good, I'm tempted to eat them all by myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mumsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I sometimes like to use 1 cup peanut butter chips and the other cup semi sweet chips. One of our FAVORITE cookies ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TraceyHawk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Very good flavors - but I think the butter is why some of the reviewers said they spread too much. First, there is a bit too much butter. I used 1 and 1/4 cups (reduced by 1/4 cup) and they didn't spread too much. Also - don't melt the butter! You should soften it at room temp and then beat in bowl until it is creamy. I also (almost always) add twice as much chips - because that's the way my kids like them! For this, I use one bag of peanut butter chips and also a package of peanut butter M&Ms. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I made 2 minor changes and they came out great. Per a previous reviewer I reduced the butter to 1 cup and also used chocolate chips, since that was what I had on hand. Will definitely be making again. If your cookies flatten out too much, try letting the dough sit for 10 minutes before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
After looking at the recipe and reading the reviews I knew I could solve the "pancake cookie" problem easily. Instead of using 1.5 CUPS of butter, just use 1 cup. Doing this made my cookies come out perfectly! They're soft, moist and just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shasta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellsworth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
AWESOME! I have been looking for a Chocolate Cookie recipe for years. I wanted one that tasted like the ones I got in Grammar School on Fridays. They were the best. Change the peanut butter to chocolate chips and you've got them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Witch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Ulrich1
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
YUMMY!! these are perfect! i halved the recipe because i only had a little less than a cup of peanut butter chips left so i added a little peanut butter to the dough as well and they came out delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ulrich1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Giving it 4 stars only b/c I had to alter the recipe to get a better result. I, too, used 3/4c butter (not margarine) + 3/4c shortening, as well as, 1c wt. sugar + 1c brn. sugar. With these alterations, I didn't HAVE TO chill the dough. I planned doing so, but made a test batch 1st b/c I was too impatient. Even then cookies NEVER ran. I still did store in refrigerator while waiting them to bake. At first, I made small 2" cookies using the 1tsp scoop as directed, baking for 8 mins. But that took too long & we prefer the big cookies. Nervous about even baking & issues that often come up with large cookies, I eventually changed to using 1Tbls & flattening it out some (must do or will be uncooked in middle) and baking for about 12-13 minutes. Made perfect, large chewy yet crisp delicious cookies. W/out brown sugar-not as soft; with only butter-not worth attempting; chilling-as I made it, didn't seem to make a world of difference. **always be sure to allow pans to cool completely between baking times**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States