Chewy Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
OH my chocolate! These are the most scrumptious cookies in the whole wide world. They are fluffy, chewy, and oozing with lots of extra peanut butter chips. I did make a few weensy changes. I used about 1/4 cup less butter then the recipe calls for, doubled the vanilla extract and substituted 1/2 cup of the white sugar for some light brown sugar. I also let the dough chill in the fridge for an hour before baking. I baked at 350 for 9 minutes. There was minimal spreading even though I made larger rounds, none touched. These are so worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Is the butter supposed to be melted first? I did, and I got the results everyone else is talking about. I baked them for the full 10 minutes and they still hadn't set. I let them sit to cool for 15 minutes and they were still doughy/gooey. They taste delicious, but I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I used 1 c. white and 1 c. brown sugar and also added a tsp. of coffee liqueur to the mix. I did not melt the butter before creaming with the sugars as I wanted my cookies to not spread in the oven. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
These cookies changed my life! They are phenomenal with a few simple changes (1/2 butter, 1/2 shortening, 1 c white sugar, 1 c brown).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Add another 1/2 cup of flour then chill for an hour. They turn out beautiful and my kids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These were delicious! I used softened butter, not melted and did not end up with thin flattened cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Followed the recipe, and as others said - they did spread out. I did make dough in advance and refridgerated for 3 days. I tried lowering the heat and cooking longer on the second batch, and that helped a bit. I ended up using a round cookie cutter to cut off spread out edges and 're-baking'. I brought these to my kids for Christmas, and I must say, they seemed to be very popular, and I received many compliments on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deirdre Ford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, California, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Pretty great cookie. Took comment advice and didn't follow the butter - I used 1c butter and 1/4c shortening (and 2 t. vanilla), and I didn't melt it all the way - just reeeeeeally soft. Cookies did not flatten out - consistency was almost perfect, like a toll house. Hopefully they will stand the overnight test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
After reading the reviews, I decided to use Butter Flavor Crisco and used 1C white and 1C brown sugar. Using an insulated baking sheet, these turned our puffy, chewy and delicious! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
You should definitely NOT MELT THE BUTTER in this recipe. It is almost exactly the recipe on the back of the "Reese's Peanut Butter Chips" bag...except in the Reese's recipe there is 1/4 c. LESS butter and it is certainly not melted. You should be able to "cream" the butter. I would recommend just buying the Reese's bag and following the recipe on the bag (although it, too, can be altered to taste...for example I usually use less sugar and sometime will do part white/part brown sugar.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States