Chewy Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Not bad cookies. They do definitely spread if you don't chill them. I chilled them, and definitely noticed as time went on that they began to spread in every direction as the dough warmed. So, you may want to put the dough back in the fridge as you go, but definitely chill for at least an hour prior to baking. If you chill for longer, like I did, you'll need a bit more time (about 11-12 minutes) to bake the cookies, depending on the size of your scoop. I thought they were good, but nothing special, although they are chewy, which I appreciate. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I just made my first batch of these, I used only 1 cup of butter and did 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of dark brown sugar. I also substituted semi sweet chocolate chips and there are wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
These are good IF you use half the sugar - WAY too much sugar!! I made these the first time exactly how the recipe instructed and thought too sweet. Made them again and used 1c of sugar instead of 2 cups of sugar. I also did not melt the butter (i do not know why some people said they melted the butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This recipe turns out a good tasting cookie, however, in order to avoid the "pancake effect", do not melt the butter. Cream the sugar with room temperature butter, then follow the rest of the recipe. This is how I always do my cookies, and they always turn out good (they do flatten a touch, but not even close to when you use melted butter!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Taste was excellent, was hoping the cookies would rise a bit, they were a little flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Did not like at all. My wife and I were baking cookies for out two kids at college. These cookies have WAY too much butter in the recipe. We are both experienced bakers that should have known better. I'm as mad at myself for using this recipe as I am the recipe itself. I would use the first person's recommendation of using half butter, half margarine and increasing the flour and vanilla. Otherwise, these are a disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Use 1 cup butter do not melt, your cookies will be perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I halved the recipe due to there are only so many cookies 2 people should eat. We really enjoyed them they did stay chewy. I also froze them in tin foil so we could keep enjoying them from time to time.. Next time I would make the whole batch they froze perfectly and where just as good a week later. If you eat them frozen they taste like the corner piece of brownies. (my favorite part)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Loved this recipe was so good everyone in my house wont stop eating them. They didn't get too flat an baked real easy. Definitely will be making them again an have already shared the recipe. The only thing i did differently is i used butterscotch chips instead of peanut butter chips was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
these were awesome! I did use the country crock spread instead of butter and they turned out great also I added a bit more cocoa powder and chocolate chips in along with the peanut butter chips. they are super soft and chewy I love them! thanks for a great recipe! I will def be using again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States