Chewy Chocolate Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I loved these! Very tasty, but I would agree that you must bake them the full 9 minutes, although all ovens vary,and I tend to make larger cookies, but 7 minutes they were still doughy, and 9 they were perfect. They taste like brownies, and I added chopped roasted almonds. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This recipe made some super tasty cookies! I didn't have the chocolate chips but they were kind of perfect that way. My partner was craving cookies and these hit the spot. I baked a batch at 9 mins and also at 10. I think the 10 min were perfect, still chewy and soft but held together better but I bet it depends on your oven, I think mine runs slightly cool/uneven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziska

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DriveT130
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I bombed on another recipe and looked for a saving grace and this recipe was it. The cookies were more than what I expected and super easy especially since it was my second try at baking cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Amazing cookies! They were so chocolaty, chewy, and yummy! To avoid having a 100% chocolate cookie, I substituted the chocolate chips with toffee bits and it was so good!! Would love to make these cookies again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
My chocolate chips didn't melt at all, which made them weird and crunchy. And my cookies were very cakey. I am probably doing something wrong because even when using butterscotch morsels they do not melt. However everyone else seemed to like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
My husband loves these! Made the recipe exactly as posted (minus the nuts) and they turned out great. Baked for 8 minutes and although they did not look like they were done, they were. Very soft and chewy. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I love these cookies, they melt in your mouth. I found them a perfect combination of brownie and cookie. I used a half a cup of cane sugar because my brown sugar was a solid block and I had a hard time chipping away enough to make a cup and a half. I wil be making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coff33zombi3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This was definately not the type of cookie I wanted. The taste was pretty good, but the texture was way off, I thought. I chose this recipe because I wanted a chewy cookie, but instead I got cake-like cookie. I would suggest re-naming this recipe to something other than Chewy Chocolate Cookies. My search for a good chewy cookie continues!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I think this is a GREAT chocolate cookie. I made some adjustments -- used butter instead of shortening, increased to 1/2 tsp baking soda and added 1/2 tsp baking powder. (A recommendation that had been made earlier). I also used a mix of semisweet chocolate and peanut butter chips and did not add walnuts. Definitely done in 7-9 minutes to keep them soft and chewy. Brought them to the office and they were gone in a flash. Would be great with a mint chocolate chip, or crushed peppermint as well. I have a new cookie in my Christmas collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This recipe turned out great. DEFINITELY take the advice of others who used 1/2 teaspoon baking soda and 1/2 teaspoon baking powder in place of the 1/4 teaspoon baking soda. I even changed the recipe to 28 servings, so it said 1/2 teaspoon baking soda. I used 3/4 teaspoon baking soda and 3/4 teaspoon baking powder - PERFECT! Also, make sure and put the dough in the fridge for about 5-10 minutes before baking. This is with all cookies. The colder the dough before placing them on the baking sheet, the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States