Chewy Chocolate Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
I was looking for an easy, quick fix for my husband's chocolate craving...I found it! The fact that they do taste like brownies was a bonus. They were easy to make and they were delicious. Definately drop them by the teaspoonful or less, they spread. The only problem I experienced was they stuck to my cookie sheet something aweful. Parchment paper might work, though I didn't have any...wax paper did not work. However, lightly greasing the sheet worked beautifully. I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Add a bit of peppermint extract and top with Hershey's Candy Cane or Mint Kisses for a special holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I was looking for chocolate cookies that didn't require chocolate chips. This recipe is just what I wanted. I used butter, since I was out of margarine, and made sure it wasn't too soft. They turned out best when I didn't grease the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I give this recipe a zero! It was horrible. I followed the recipe. Made one pan of cookies and I had a mess. I couldn't get the cookies off the pan, they all ran together into one big awkward shape, and they were so thin they fell apart when you picked them up. It said to add 2 cups of flour, I put 4 and it still wasn't enough! Whoever came up with this recipe seriously can't cook. I think that this reciped should b removed from this website. The cookies ended up everywhere. I could not even eat one cookies because i couldnt get it near my mouth without it falling to the floor in pieces! It was horrible. I will never use this recipes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
The instructions for this recipe really should indicate chilling the dough. It will cut down on the flatness of the cookies. Even with chilling though they are still fairly flat cookies, but there isn't anything wrong with that is there? They are delicious, moist, and chewy. Like the edge piece from a pan of brownies. I put an unwrapped Andes mint on each as they came out of the oven and swirled the chocolate after it was melted to make a yummy mint cookie for my holiday baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I don't know why some people are complaining, this recipe was great! I loved the flavor! It was so good, I was addicted to eating them. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
take the recipe off the website and spare the other innocent people who only want some chocolate cookies man!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Very tasty, I must say! I was surprised that they didn't taste too "cocoa-ish". I used 1/3 cup pecans, 1/3 cup whole almonds & 1/3 cup slivered almonds instead of using walnuts (had none)- and it was quite a good substitute. Also, instead of all that margarine (too many transfats), I used 1/2 cup butter & 1/3 cup canola oil, and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
These tasted delicious, but the batter was a little awkward. Definitely keep the spoonfuls very small and chill to help firm it up some. I cooked for 10 minutes. I sprayed my sheet with Pam also and didn't have any problems with the cookies sticking. I wouldn't suggest making these for a potluck or party because they look messy after cooking. Has a nice brownie texture though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I chose this recipe only because it was the only one I could find with ingredients I had on hand. VERY GOOD! I used butter instead of margarine and pecans instead of walnuts. They do taste a bit like brownies. Chewy and rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States