Chewy Chocolate Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I read the reviews first, and wanted to make sure the cookies didn't flatten out while baking. I added half a cup more flour to the recipe, and they came out soft and chewy, and about as high as I'd like. (Maybe 1/4 cup more flour next time to get them really fat...) I was out of chips, so skipped that, and they were still great as basic chocolate cookies. And since they were plain on the inside, I made up for it by rolling the cookies in powdered sugar before baking. That came out well. You could add anything to this dough; the idea of orange extract and zest crossed my mind, or maybe mac nuts with almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
These cookies were quite nice. I followed the advice of the other reviewers and added an extra cup of flour. I omitted the salt and added a little bit of milk because the mixture was really dry. I was a little timid about the amount of sugar - I did put the 2 cups in, but next time I'll probably cut that down. They came out really nice and chewy - very heavy though, very chocolatey. I made two trays of biscuits then put the rest in as a cake (I got impatient) and that turned out quite nicely, I just left that in a little longer. I agree with the other reviewers, you must let them cool on the baking paper before transferring them to the rack because they will fall apart. I liked the texture - nice and chewy in the middle, harder on the outside. I'm giving it a four because I feel it's a tad sugary for my liking but the biscuits are quite nice. About them being flat - mine weren't very flat but I did add that extra cup of flour - they spread a lot so make sure you space them with big gaps in between. Yum! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
My favorite new recipe! I have made these 3 times now, and they are great! The first time, after reading comments about them being flat, I used half margarine/half crisco. Cookies were a little dry then. The next 2 times I followed the recipe EXACTLY (well, Blue Bonnet stick margarine instead of butter)and they are fabulous! Everyone loves them. They are not flat, and very soft, but definitely done! Just a note, they should be dropped by Tablespoon, not teaspoon. I have a cookie scoop that is a measured Tablespoon, works great - bake 9 minutes. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
If the term "BET YOU CAN'T EAT ONE" ever described a cookie perfectly, this is the one!! I've made cookies for over 40 years and can't believe I never thought of this one. It's very easy and very delicious. I used real butter like it stated and (oink, oink) I think that really made a difference!! HINT: Let them cool a bit before trying to remove them...lot easier. Thanks for a great recipe, Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
First of all, let me say, "I loved these cookies!" After reading the reviews I decided that I would add an extra 1 cup of flour so the cookies would bake up nice & fat and they did. I used a small size ice cream scoop to make the cookies uniform in size & I also baked a couple of 1 inch balls that I rolled up in my hands to experiment with. The ice cream scoop ones were larger & baked just right for 9 minutes on an air bake cookie sheet with a silpat. The 1 inch balls on the same sheet for 9 minutes baked up more dry. Now for the add ins. I only used 1 cup of choc. chips but I also used 1 cup of chopped up dried cherries. I was very pleased with the out come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachanee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I made the cookies as stated and they're great! I then decided to try to reduce the calories and did this: replaced 1/2 cup butter w/seedless, sugarless raspberry jam, and half the sugar with stevia by the cup. All the other ingredients were unchanged - except used white chocolate chips. Wow, they were fabulous cookies. This is an all around great recipe - versatile but great as is, too. I'll be using this a lot in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Deeeelightful!! I have been looking for a good chocolate chocolate chip cookie recipe, and this is it! The search is over. I also added an additional 1/2 cup flour,as others suggested, and they were perfect. The batter alone is fab, but the cookies are wonderful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Hooper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
these were great, however this is the exact same recipe as Hershey's Reese's Chewy Chocolate Cookies. The only difference is they add peanut butter chips instead of chocolate chips. Either way these are great chocolate cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
These are, in short, amazing. I have a hard time stopping my family members from eating them all fresh out of the oven which is really something. My only suggestion would be to take these right off the cookie sheet 1 to 2 minutes after they've cooled-or you'll have to deal with them being stuck to the sheet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
These cookies are great!If you do not want you cookies to be FLAT though, you should use 1 & 1/4 cup of butter flavored Crisco and 7 1/2 teaspoons water in place of the butter. Also I use peanutbutter chips in place of chocolate !! What a HIT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States