Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
These were definitely edible, though I expected more after the great reviews. My brother even commented that they tasted like 'diet cookies'. I will add less oats next time (maybe 1.5-2 cups) since I think that made them dry tasting and less sweet. I had no problem with the shape, but did let the dough chill for about 2 hours and added more flour and baking soda, as others suggested. I didn't cut the salt because I used unsalted butter. Because they didn't flatten much, I had to cook them much longer (close to 20 minutes) and used wax paper. I tried all the different cooking variations as another reviewer did, but none of them were long enough. The tops and bottoms were a perfect color and never browned, so it was hard to gauge when I should take them out. I don't mind a 'doughy' center, so I'm trying a batch now on lesser time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I have made these gluten-free dairy-free nut-free and low sugar. Here is my variations Replace butter with ½ cup ghee and ½ cup applesauce. Replace white and brown sugar with 3/4 cup Turbinado sugar or sugar in the raw. I have used as little as 1/2 cup and they still taste good. I have replaced the wheat flour with oat flour before to make a gluten-free cookie and they turned out great. Rice flour did not work very well. I used 1 teaspoon baking soda & ½ teaspoon salt plus 1 teaspoon cinnamon. I always add an additional 1/2 oats. I like to use 1 cup chopped pecans instead of walnuts but I have also left the nuts out entirely and I have also substituted sunflower seeds. I prefer to make my cookies dairy-free by using 1 cup raisins instead of using chocolate. I also baked at 375 degree F for 15 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
omg these are amazing i followed the recipe exactly as listed and it was perfect soft, crunchy just on the rim of the cookie everywhere else soft and chewy. This recipe is a keeper!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This cookie came out great! I did cut down the salt and added a lil more oats and vanilla...otherwise, they came out chewy and soft!!! I bagged them and the next day tasted just as fresh and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My friends and family love these cookies. They are hit when I make them. Sweet and moist with the chocolate chip makes it delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Delicious cookies. Even kids love this. Earning extra cash with this delightful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mariacar
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Great cookie, love the sweet and salty ?? mouthwatering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I went with the suggestion of the others, and added 1/2 cup of flour; half a tsb of baking soda and decreased the salt byhalf. In aaddition I added 1 tbs of cinnamon. All my colleagues, friends and family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Would not make this again. Flavor was ok but texture was very poor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I modified this to be gluten free.made this with Gluten free all purpose baking mix. 2cups of oat flour and 1cup of oats WOW!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,841) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States