Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
A good basic cookie, a little heavy on the salt. If your cookies come out flat it is most likely due to over mixing. Cream butter and sugar until very light and fluffy 4 or 5 mins. if you like. Add the dry ingredients and mix by hand just 'till blended. Your cookies will always stay nice and full. Over baking can also cause your cookies to flatten out. Cookies will continue to bake after taken from the oven so don't over do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4343 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I did as suggested in other reviews and increased the flour by 1/2 cup and baking soda by 1/2 tablespoon, cut the salt to 1/2 tsp. This made the absolutely best cookies ever!! I made them this afternoon thinking they'd last the rest of the week. No way! Between my husband and two children, they'll be gone by tomorrow night. They're fantastic. I'll make these alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2783 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
I have made this recipe several times now and just had to come back and write a review. After one batch this became the favorite cookie among friends and family. I add a 1/2 cup more oats and use a mix of chocolate anf butterscotch chips. One other tip - chill the mix for 2 hours prior to baking and the cookies won't spread. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1887 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
This is a really good cookie. Would have given it 5 stars, but did need to increase the flour to 1 3/4 cup and baking soda to 1 teaspoon. If you use margarine or salted butter, DEcrease the salt to 1/4 tsp or just omit altogether. Salt that is suggested in cookie recipes are generally listed for bakers who use UNsalted butter. This made 36 good sized cookies. I chilled the dough for around 30 minutes, due to reading o thers having spreading problems. I made them a tad larger than a 'normal' sized cookie. I did an experiment and baked these (with above changes) at 350 for 12 minutes, they spread too much, became too brown around the edges and were only chewy in the dead center. Next batch I baked at 350 for 10 minutes, then 11, and finally to 12...because anything under 12 the center was still quite doughy but at 12 they spread quite a bit and were more thin and crispy than soft or chewy. At 325, 12 minutes cookies were too raw and any longer and the center would get overbaked. I then set the oven up to 335, yes 335, and baked for 12 minutes. PERFECTO. Results were: the cookie was softer, only very edges were crisp, center was soft and still slightly puffy. My suggestions would be to add about 1/2 cup more flour, and the full tsp of baking soda (you can not taste it and it does not produce a cake like cookie by any means), if you're kitchen is warm- chill the dough for 30 minutes to an hour and bake for the 12 minutes at 335. This is my new oatmeal cookie. Thanks Dr Amy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1367 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
These cookies are AMAZING. I have not met one person who did not like them... I change the recipe a bit and use 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of applesauce (healthier, plus it makes the cookies more chewy). Also, I use more flour (1 and 1/2 cups) and don't include nuts. GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
584 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
Good, but the cookie ended up flat, I added 1/4 cup more flour, 1/2 teaspoon more baking soda, and 1/2 tsp less salt the second time and they came out perfect! YOu must do these adjustments or you will probably have a flat cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
444 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: May 21, 2002
This was such an awful cookie! I followed the ingredients To the EXACT! the cookies were extremely flat, didnt taste too good, and the edges burnt since the cookie turned so flat. I would most definately never make these cookies again. I made 42 cookies and it turned into 3 large flat cookie slabs, and after about 10 minutes, the cookies outsides were too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Excellent, excellent recipe! I've tried several oatmeal cookie recipes and this one definitely is the best. Kudos to the creator. I did modify it a bit because I'm always looking for shortcuts. Instead of doing the individual cookie thing I baked the recipe in 2 cake pans at 350 for about 25-30 minutes and the bars came out totally yummy! This one is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
I altered the recipe by adding 1/4 cup more flour, 1/2 tsp. more baking soda, and 1/2 tsp. LESS salt. I also made it more "healthy" by substituting 1/2 cup of the butter with 1/2 cup applesauce, and also by replacing one of the eggs with 2 egg whites. I did add about 1/3 - 1/2 cup more oats b/c it was a little too wet. My family LOVED them! They are yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Great cookie recipe! Modified it as others have by using 1-1/2 cups flour, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and chilled the dough for a couple hours. They didn't last too long on the rack because when I wasn't looking, my boyfriend kept stealing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,993) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States