Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I love this recipe it is extremely versatile and the kids love the soft chewy cookie that bakes up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Delicious! Made the recipe as is, except cut back on the amount of salt (only used a dash) and used milk chocolate chips rather than semi-sweet. They turned out great! Soft and chewy, and the perfect amount of sweetness. Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I've made these cookies a million times. In my opinion there is no need to change the recipe at all. I bake almost every night...cookies, pies, cakes....and my husband loves these cookies. I always have this cookie dough in my freezer for unexpected guests. Just make sure to not bake them too long. Otherwise they will be way too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and just love these cookies! My Mom always made her chocolate chip cookies with oats and these take me back to a cherished time in my childhood! I did cut back on the chips as I only like a hint of the chocolate taste. I chop the walnuts very fine and love the underlying walnut flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I tried this recipe as-is minus the nuts. Not thinking I didn't account for that when adding the flour which I kept at 1 1/4 cups. This led to 15 minute cook time and a crumbly cookie. Certainly not in-edible by any means but aesthetically and transportationally deficient. As for as flat cookies go, overmixing is the cause. I have come to cream my butter and sugar in a mixer, then use a wooden spoon and hand mix the rest of the way. I never have a flat cookie anymore
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cartoonist62
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Nice and easy recipe. Was able to make about 60 small cookies in an hour and a half. I didn't have any of the issues people talked about (spreading too much or being too salty.) The baking time was also perfect! Chewy on the inside! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I made a few modifications, as suggested by other reviewers. I added 1/2 cup of flour, 1/2 tsp of baking soda and only used 1/2 tsp of salt. I didn't use nuts and may have been generous with the chocolate chips (maybe 1/4 cup). For my oven, I only baked for 10 minutes and I used cooking spray because someone said theirs stuck, but I'm not sure it was needed. They were delicious! Made them for a girls cross country party and they were GONE; I had to hide a couple or I wouldn't have gotten any. Definitely will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I made the recipe as written and it either needs more flour or needs to chill before baking because these spread way too much. The recipe says to use an ungreased cookie sheet. These stuck terribly. And one cup of chocolate chips was not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShannyBanany
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I really loved this recipe. I was looking for a good, chewy oatmeal cookie that would allow for some add-ins and that's exactly what I got. I made them exactly as stated, and ended up with 49 nice sized cookies. I followed the basic recipe to the T, but changed the add-ins: 1c semi-sweet chocolate chips, 1c toasted almond slivers, and 1c dried cherries. I also used almond extract instead of vanilla, to emphasize the almond flavor. With the additions, since chocolate and cherries are both a little sweet, I felt that the amount of salt was good. However if you're just making a basic oatmeal cookie, you will want to cut down on the salt. Also, if your cookies are coming out flat and burning it is likely because you are over mixing (or over creaming), or because your dough has gotten too wet or too warm ... all of these things can thin out your dough and create a flatter cookie. I'm happy to say that mine turned out great. I did end up having to cook mine for 15 minutes, rather than the stated 12 minutes, because for my oven 12min was just not enough. So many things can go wrong with baking, even the temperature outside plays a part in how your items turn out. If you didn't get a good result the first time, you might want to try again rather than just throw this recipe out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Hello! I love to bake of course, and I decided to try this one day. It was so delicious that I made over 40 cookies. This recipe is super easy for begainners. Its yummy, and every body loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darci Wauneka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 3,006) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States