Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
TOOOOO SWEET when I followed the recipe exactly, and came out flat. I added more flour as did most people, doubled the baking soda and added half a tsp of baking powder, NO SALT, used salted butter instead (another try I used no salt and regular butter and it was fine), also added more oatmeal to make the dough tougher (I like a dense cookie), and replaced the nuts with toffee. Now, every time I share these with clients and friends, they ask me where I ordered them from or if I could make a batch for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
So good! We added cinnamon to these as well as white chocolate chips and they are to die for :) Not one person whose tried them has said otherwise. Mmm, thank you! We never altered anything else and they don't end up flat. Just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is a very good basic recipe. I added at least a teaspoon of cinnamon, a large handful of dried cranberries, a 1/4 of ground flax, and 1/4 less white sugar. My cookies had a nice shape - not at all flat. Next time I will cut back on the butter by substituting apple sauce as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I changed this around a little bit with a mistake that ended up being awesome! Decrease vanilla to 1 1/2 tsp and add 1/2 tsp of Almond Extract. Decrease salt to 1/2 tsp and added another 1/4 C. flour. I also used Dark Brown Sugar instead of light. The cookies turned out amazing with the Almond extract. They were the favorites of the two batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
These are great chewy cookies! I even accidentally left out the vanilla one time and they were still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
YUM! My husband, who, admittedly, probably never met a cookie he didn't like absolutely RAVED about these. They are so moist, tender and delicious. The oatmeal lends a great texture and interest to a beloved flavor. Thank you! ADDENDUM 3/10/14: My son, who is pretty much an anti-connoisseur when it comes to foods (i.e., thinks "Oreos" are the best cookies on the planet) told me "These cookies are the BEST! Even better than OREOS!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Made all the adjustments recommended by other reviewers and they got top ratings in my home. 1 1/2 cups of flour 1/2 tablespoon of baking soda 1/2 teaspoon 1/2 cup more of oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Great cookie... Just used 1/2 the salt and an extra 1/2 cup flour ( others suggested) and added 1tsp of cornstarch.... (Works to keep cookies from flattening)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
These cookies were very good. I added 1 cup of coconut and a dash of cinnomen. Everyone loves them, I get requests all the time to make them. Hope you enjoy them as much as we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Followed exactly except the walnuts, everyone at the Superbowl party inhaled them - I've been looking for a good oatmeal cookie recipe for a while and I think I've finally found one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,883) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States