Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
very good cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J91
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I increased flour by 1/2 cup and baking soda by 1/2 tsp. Decreased salt by 1/2 tsp, took out walnuts. It's a little sweet, but I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Since l found this recipe, l have used it to bake five separate batches and have yet to screw one up. I love a simple recipe such as this, that gives you repeatable predictably delicious results, perfect for those sweet tooth driven cookie baking binges. My family loves these and look forward to my random acts of cookie. I follow the recipe but use the large oats and Hershey Mini milk chocolate chips. I also add a half teaspoon of cinnamon and for the raison lovers, l substitute raisins for chocolate chips. l was told that these were the best cookies that l have baked by my chief taste testers, whose opinions l trust after subjecting them to countless "try these", and "what do you thinks". Thumbs up !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
1tsp. Salt ruined my recipe.had to double to fix it. Maybe change 1tsp to 1/2. And the cookies were flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Really good cookie. Easy to make. No issues that were mentioned on the least positive posts (some said too much butter? When is there ever too much butter, lol). They do appear to be undercooked when taken out but they continue to back and become chewy cookies that are hard to resist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OUgirl
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
These cookies are not too bad. I followed the recipe exact. As others stated, they are too salty. I suggest only adding 1/2 tsp of salt. My cookies did not turn out flat, bc I made sure to soften my butter at room temperature (not microwave). Also, I freeze my dough while letting the oven preheat. I also suggest cooking at 350 degrees for 14 minutes then leave them on pan for 5 minutes as recipe suggests. My second and third pan turned out better by longer cooking time. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
These cookies were tasty, but not soft and chewy! I took the advise of everyone on here to increase flour and baking soda. This made for VERY dry cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLindstrom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Delicious! Could use a tad less salt if you are sensitive, but otherwise these are fantastic. I made them exactly the recipe suggest. I'll admit, I was a little nervous after reading some of reviews saying that the recipe needed more oats. I feared the cookies wouldn't turn out well because the dough did seem a little loose. However, I went ahead and popped the first batch into the oven to bake. Then my nervousness took over and added more oats to the 2nd half of the dough. I needed the cookies for a party at my daughters school and really needed them to turn out. After the first batch (exactly as written) was finished, I baked the second batch (with a little more oats). Then I did a taste test with my family and EVERYONE, (including me) preferred the cookies made exactly as the recipe is written. Took off one star for the slight saltiness of this recipe, but these cookies are super delicious anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLEABROOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
The only modifications I made were to cut the salt in half, just based on instinct and other reviews, and added a dash of cinnamon. These were great! The kids loved them, the hubby and I loved them too! Make sure not to over mix the dry ingredients in to the wet , otherwise you will end up with a flat over cooked cookie, instead of the thick and chewy version that came for a proper mix. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steffyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I've made these several times and have loved them each time. In an attempt to get the cookies even more chewy and soft, I melted the butter before creaming it with sugar, used dark brown sugar instead of the light and used 1 egg + 1 egg yolk instead of both eggs. I also followed others' suggestions to increase the flour and baking soda and decrease the salt a bit. They turned out delicious. I leave out the nuts and put the dough in the freezer between batches. (I've never had the problem of the cookies going flat.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 2,973) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States