Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
these cookies are really really good. I took the advice from others and added 1/2 c flour and 1/2 t baking soda. I also had to increase the cooking time by 4 minutes and they were really good! next Time I will reduce the salt to 1/2 t because I use margarine. I will also try the 1/2 c butter and 1\2 c applesauce version. this will be my go to recipe for my favorite type of cookies. but they
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talia Mase

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Sorry, any BAKING recipe that takes this many mods for the product to come out correct - not mods based on taste preferences or favorite cookie inclusions - should not be rated this highly. The salt is definitely only for using I salted butter, no clue why you'd even use salted butter while baking. Too little flour and baking soda, the first dozen I baked were awful, luckily cookies can be forgiving. After I saw how far they were spreading and not rising, I read the comments. I tossed some more flour and baking soda into the dough...hey, I wasn't about to bake 30 of these flat things, I was at least gonna go out with a fight...I test baked one at 340 degrees (350 baked the edges too fast) and yes, it rose and stayed together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Changed the chocolate chips to rasins, reduced 1/2 tsp salt, and added a tsp of cinnamon. Cooked at 350 degree F for 12 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
These are simply the best cookies ever. I have to hide them in my deep freeze or they are GONE no matter how I quadruple the recipe. Ty for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Loved the recipe as is, but added some cinnamon to the second batch, and it was even more yummy! Just a few heavy sprinkles over the batter, no idea how much it was, otherwise the same exact recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
My family and I love these cookies! I substituted walnuts with cashews and added a teaspoon of cinnamon to give it more flavour, and it's great! Best cookie recipe I've found so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I accidentally left them in too long and burned the bottoms, but even then they turned out great! I only put in 1 cup of flour and a little more baking powder. The less flour from the recipe the better because the oats are going to do the job for them, of course don't completely omit it, but the point still applies. Only one of my cookies flattened out and that was because it had too much dough and not enough oats. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red LoRusso

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I tried these today. First off, I have to say that I forgot to add the eggs (I did add a little extra flour as suggested by others) and they still came out great! I made another batch with the eggs and they came out even better! Hubby is diabetic so I used 1/4 c.of Splenda Blend in place of the white sugar. I am going to try it again with agave nectar in place of the sugar. Our kids loved them, too. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I helped this recipe out a little bit by adding 1/4 cup more flour, and just a couple pinches more of baking soda, and a lot LESS salt (based on the previous comments and ratings), and the cookies turned out awesome!I highly recommend adding more chocolate chips though ;) just for the hell of it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Super easy and everyone loves them "These are the best cookies ever" is a common comment. I skip the nuts and add an extra teaspoon of vanilla but otherwise do them exactly as described. A definate hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 2,900) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States