Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I was running low on chocolate chips, so I substituted the rest with dried blueberries which turned into a wonderful chocolatey-blueberry delight!! I was also low on butter, so I substituted the remaining portion with olive oil, and used golden sugar instead of brown - still turned out great! However, I did have it in the over for 21 minutes instead of 12... maybe my scoops are a touch too big :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
my wife made these tonight and yes the first cookie sheet was flat and crispy but tasted fantastic,the rest of the the sheets were not flat and were also wonderful try chilling the dough for a half an hour, this seems to make the cookies less flat.BEST.COOKIE.EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John B Parsons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This recipe is delicious. I personally love big chewy cookies, and if you do I found that if you roll your dough into cylinders and then bake it makes the cookies more tall and not as crunchy. You want a thin crunchy one? Than you should roll the dough into a ball and flatten down, but if you do this you should only bake 6 on the pan. These are definitely a crowd pleaser and I will make these over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
First time making these cookies and they were great, I subsitituted the chocolate chips for white chocolate chips. My husband loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mjacks
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Very good! Added 1 1/2 cups of flour instead, as someone suggested. Make sure you bake for the full 12 minutes suggested, and not a minute longer, as this makes a difference in the chewiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjacks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Curly Sue
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
A little too salty but overall really soft, chewy and good. I baked them for 15 minutes vs the suggested 12 to be fully cooked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
These were great cookies. I followed this recipe exactly and was very pleased with the results. The cookies were nice and crispy on the outside and soft and chewy inside, just how we like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Excellent with a few alterations. Like the other reviewers, I found it best to add 1/2 cup of flour and reduce the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. In addition, I felt like the first batch of cookies was missing something, so I turned to my oatmeal raisin cookie recipes and decided to add in 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. The cinnamon just adds a savory flavor to the cookies and makes them POP! I really enjoy soft, chewy cookies so I usually bake mine a few minutes less than the baking time in recipes. For these cookies, I found 8 - 9 minutes at 350 degrees to be the "sweet spot." As with any cookie, keeping them sealed tightly in a cool, dry location is the key to freshness. I also tend to add a slice of bread to maintain moisture. With the alterations, these didn't last long at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Storm Lake, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly Lara
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I increased the flour by a 1/4 cup and reduced the baking soda by a 1/4 teaspoon. I also put half semi-sweet chocolate and half white chocolate chips and added about 1/3 cup of craisins. I call them my Black, White and Red Oatmeal Cookies! They were a huge hit at the office! Note: I had to raise the temp of my oven to 350 and it took about 20-25 minutes to cook; probably because the cookies were a little denser and didn't flatten as much as the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Lara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I've used it several times now and they've turned out great each time. I've made a couple of modifications, one being I added 1/3 c more oatmeal and another time I added finely chopped walnuts and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. They're so good, I can even use them as bribes for my staff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 121-130 (of 3,129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States