Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
These were great cookies. I followed this recipe exactly and was very pleased with the results. The cookies were nice and crispy on the outside and soft and chewy inside, just how we like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Excellent with a few alterations. Like the other reviewers, I found it best to add 1/2 cup of flour and reduce the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. In addition, I felt like the first batch of cookies was missing something, so I turned to my oatmeal raisin cookie recipes and decided to add in 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. The cinnamon just adds a savory flavor to the cookies and makes them POP! I really enjoy soft, chewy cookies so I usually bake mine a few minutes less than the baking time in recipes. For these cookies, I found 8 - 9 minutes at 350 degrees to be the "sweet spot." As with any cookie, keeping them sealed tightly in a cool, dry location is the key to freshness. I also tend to add a slice of bread to maintain moisture. With the alterations, these didn't last long at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Storm Lake, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly Lara
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I increased the flour by a 1/4 cup and reduced the baking soda by a 1/4 teaspoon. I also put half semi-sweet chocolate and half white chocolate chips and added about 1/3 cup of craisins. I call them my Black, White and Red Oatmeal Cookies! They were a huge hit at the office! Note: I had to raise the temp of my oven to 350 and it took about 20-25 minutes to cook; probably because the cookies were a little denser and didn't flatten as much as the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Lara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I've used it several times now and they've turned out great each time. I've made a couple of modifications, one being I added 1/3 c more oatmeal and another time I added finely chopped walnuts and 1/2 tsp cinnamon. They're so good, I can even use them as bribes for my staff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Porkchop9024
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I've made this recipe a couple of times and it always turns out perfectly! Just can't get enough of the crunchiness of the oats! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe. I have made it several times now and gotten tons of compliments each time. I did modify it very slightly by decreasing the salt to 1/2 tsp (the first time I made them they were just a bit too salty for our taste) and I use my "secret" ingredient of using only Guittard Milk Chocolate chips. But other than those personal taste substitutions, they are perfect! I also wanted to add my personal tip: chill your cookie dough for an hour if you can, then loosely shape into a balls and flatten them bit with your hand when you put them on the cookie sheet. This will prevent your cookies from flattening out and still give them a substantial "middle" worth biting into!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
my favorite chocolate chip cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I add 1 Teaspoon cinnamon. And if you use unsalted butter, it's not too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
My family loves these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Not so much on the chewy side but these were very popular in my household! As I have made this recipe more than once, I consider that to be a great sign.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 3,093) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States