Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
This is my go-to cookie recipe. These are always a hit at home and when I share them. A friend told me "This is what a cookie is supposed to be like!" The secret to a rounder cookie is I prep the dough first, then put it in the freezer while I preheat the oven (about 10 minutes). Cold dough is key! I then use a melon baller and make however many I need at the time and store the remaining dough in a tupperware in the fridge so it's easily accessible and quick to bake. These bake perfectly at 325 for 12 minutes in my gas oven. With the small melon baller I have, this recipe makes about 5 dozen cookies consistently. Oh, and I always skip the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Cox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I don't understand the negative reviews here. People should acquire a basic knowledge of baking cookies if they actually said this was an "awful" cookie after making it. Anyway, delicious cookies and I baked mine two minutes longer than stated in recipe. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mitchellt_3
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Made these this morning but omitted the walnuts and added cinnamon. Half I made with chocolate chocolate chips and the other half I made with raisins. Best oatmeal cookies EVER! I'll certainly be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
Great recipe. I added extra chocolate chips and baked them for 14 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
This cookie recipe is delicious and worth every star. I forgot to read the reviews, so they did turn out flat, very much like a chewy lace cookie. I'm taking them to a potluck so I made a recipe and a half and I got LOTS of cookies. I did substitute quick steel-cut oats for more texture and used Baker's semisweet chocolate chunks too. Halfway through baking I did chill the rest of the dough and that helped, but next time I will add more flour and baking soda to help them rise more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Bennett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea MacLean
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I added 1/4 cup more chocolate chips, and used 1/2 cup of coconut instead of the nuts! Turned out amazing and Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea MacLean
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
I cut back on the sugar and added raisin. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
it makes a nice chewy cookie with the extra bit of flour and baking soda that was recommended by everyone else. I kept batter in refrigerator between batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuzzylogicricecooker
Living In: Pearl River, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
very easy and yummy! toddler enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
Very good, following several reviewers' recommendations: went slightly 'heavy' on the sugars (didn't quite level the measuring cups) since I think cookies need to be sweet, increased flour to 1 1/2 cups, decreased salt to 1/2 tsp. (using salted butter still), increased baking soda to 1 tsp., and increased chocolate chips to about 1 1/2 cups. I had to bake a bit longer, but think I overdid it maybe by a minute. I have the rest of the batch frozen in dough balls so we'll be able to bake up just a few as needed. Nice chewy cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States