Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
So delicious! I made them nice and chewy by adding an extra 1/2 cup of flour and an extra 1/2 tbs of baking soda. I also cut down the salt like others have suggested. Made them today and the hubby loves them so much that I doubt they will last till tomorrow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yeritza Bohorquez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Used half a teaspoon of salt than in recipe. These are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ayla Smith
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Not sure why there are negative reviews. If your cookies are flat it's because you've over mixed the dough. Stand mixers are notorious for over mixing. I use my hand held mixer for cookies to avoid this problem. Additionally, if you chill your dough for at least half an hour or until it is firm, you'll get a more compact cookie. I used a hand mixer and did not chill the dough and mine came out perfect. I used the small dough scoop from BB&B and it made four dozen perfect. I think you get more compact cookies when you use a scoop instead of a spoon. My family loved the cookies. I might cut out some of the salt next time. I did not add nuts due to my son's braces. Next time I might try adding half chocolate chip and half butterscotch chips. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ayla Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I thought these were pretty good. My only issue is they are a little sweet. They remind me a bit of the oatmeal cookies on the popular oatmeal box, but with chocolate and walnuts. They bake up nicely. I made 1/2 recipe and got 29 cookies. I baked them on parchment paper and portioned with a cookie scoop. They took 17 minutes to bake. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Delicious! I don't like salty cookies so I only used half the salt that it calls for but I did everything else exactly as it says to and they turned out perfect! They didn't flatten out like some say they do. Maybe I mixed just the right amount. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Rush

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe i didnt use salt in it added a cup of shredded coconut and a 1/4 cup more flour. brought them to work now everyone wants the recipe. can you say mmmmmmmmm delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Oatmeal chocolate chip cookies are my absolute favorite. I've used this recipe dozens of times and my cookies are always a hit. This recipe is better than my grandma's and that woman can BAKE! Also, extremely happy this website updated so you can check off ingredients as you go like other recipe sites :) I substitute the semi-sweet with dark chocolate & also use Splenda instead of sugar. & I don't use nuts. Ew! Sometimes I throw in some coconut & it is WONDERFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Sooooo I see a lot of people stating their cookies ended up flat ----> reasoning behind it is either you greased the baking sheet or cooked them on a stick free pan or you live at a crazy altitude. These cookies need high friction on the bottom so they don't collapse and fall flat so cook them on a regular cookie sheet without oil/butter. Flavoring wise they are ok but missing cinnamon .... I'm saddened because I attempted to save them by dusting with cinnamon but it's not the same, now it tastes like a snickerdoodle with chocolate chips. Fail
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I used margarine instead of butter and added some raisins as well. Also used whole wheat flour. They came out soft, chewy, and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Probably the worst cookies I've ever eaten. I will eat anything and even if I make terrible cookies I will eat them so they don't go to waste. But not these! They were incredibly dry and had a horrible texture. I don't know if I just used the wrong kind of oats or what. I used steel cut quick cook oats. I don't know what else I was supposed to use because there were no others at the store. I followed the recipe exactly and have never been more disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,902) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States