Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
OH MY GOODNESS!! These are delicious, light and gooey. I added butterscotch chips and they are over the top. My only problem was that they are very heavy with oats. Way too many oats. Also I did applesauce and butter, instead of just butter, and I did 1 3/4 cups of flour, 1 tsp. of Baking Soda, and only 1/2 tsp. of salt and they are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
I have used this recipe for years! Sometimes I use the comments variation of adding more flour but they always turn out tasting delicious and looking great! They are always a hit with family and friends when I make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Before making these cookies I looked through the reviews and accordingly made a couple of changes. I added 1/2 tsp of baking powder, 1/2 cup flour, used no salt because I was using salted butter. I baked at 335 degrees Fahrenheit for 12 minutes. However, the first batch turned out very dry and so I added 1/4 cup water and the second batch turned out perfect!! At 335 degrees the cookies baked to perfection and the water added just the right amount of moisture!! If I was to make these again, I would NOT add as much flour, possibly just 1/4 cup extra. I also added raisins because I absolutely love oatmeal&raisins :33
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reetta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
My husband LOVED these...he told me these are his favorite of always and the next day he said they were amazing. I halfed the recipe and made 35 cookies. Only change I made was to swap the amounts of the walnuts and chocolate chips. I will have to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKalka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2015
I have been making these cookies for years now and have just recently been adventurous enough to change them up (a little). I only use 1 cup of light brown sugar (loosely packed), no white sugar at all and 3/4 cup of choc chips. They spread a bit but still have some bulk to them and have a bit of crunch on the outside while still being soft on the inside. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
I followed RCBA320's lead and swapped out 1/2 cup butter for 1/2 cup apple sauce, added an extra 1/4 cup flour to the original recipe, and omitted nuts. I also reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp. after reading the reviews above. I added in some chocolate chunks too because I didn't quite have a whole cup of chips. I ended up with a very moist, dense, and chocolatey cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Why do people rate a recipe that they have changed? You are actually rating your own recipe. The reviews are useless if you are making changes and rating your own recipe. I made this cookie as is. I did not like the cookie. It seemed a little too salty to me and I used unsalted butter. I chilled the dough for an hour before putting on cookie sheets and made sure my cookie sheets were cooled down before putting more cookies on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ellen Ingle
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I use parchment paper for easy cleanup and even browning. Excellent! Letting cool 5mins on cookie sheet is key to chewy cookie that doesn't fall apart before cool. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Ingle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
This is going to be my go to oatmeal cookie, I just know it. The cookies were fat and soft and chewy. I ended up cooking them for a 2 minutes longer (14 minutes) in an oven that was 160 degrees rather than 165 as I was concerned about the bottoms and edges browning too much. The only thing I did to change the recipe was add more chocolate and I substituted the cup of walnuts for a cup of raw peanuts instead. The cookies turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Great cookies! Made it with a few changes inspired by other reviews. I increased the flour to 1 3/4 cups, reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp, since I used salted butter. I omitted the nuts since my family are not fans. I put the cookie dough in the fridge for about 30 minutes before baking. Finally, through a few tries, I found that baking the cookies at 335 degrees for 18 minutes worked best for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charliegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Candiac, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States