Chewy Chocolate Chip Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I have tried every granola bar recipe on Allrecipes.com searching for a flexible, adaptable snack bar, that is enough like store-bought that my kids will eat them, but which is still better for them (sugar/bad fat-wise). THESE ARE A SUCCESS! I used mini-chocolate chips and chopped nuts in 1/2 the batch, and white chocolate chips, almonds, and dried cranberries in the other 1/2. I baked each seperately in a 11x7 pan and they turned out great--not too dry, chewy, and held together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This recipe is AWESOME! I've made it several times. Once my mother-in-law tasted them at my house, now she asks me to bring these chewy granola to all of our family gatherings! She raves about them to everyone she knows who enjoys healthy foods. The rest of my family loves them too, especially my 3 young boys (age 9, 6 and 3). THANK YOU for your creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I would like to thank you for this recipe. I have made many different versions of it. . . I have about 20 flavors so far and have tried several, I make a new one each week. I vary the ingredients considerably, but your recipe was the inspiration. I like the high protein in this bar. It sticks with you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boyce, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
My husband and I loved this recipe! Mine did not stay packed together like I had hoped and I even added some honey trying to get them to stick. My 5 and 2 year olds were not crazy about it at all though. I didn't have any chocolate chips so that was omitted. Great recipe that I will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I had to change my previous review because now I love these! I use 5 TBSP honey instead of corn syrup and I also add a few TBSP of ground Flaxseed. If you make these and they come out too crumbly, try adding more peanut butter. I don't use marshmallows, but add 1/2 cup toasted chopped almonds and 1 cup choc. chips. I make these so much that I had to start buying the ingredients in bulk at costco! I have a 14 lb bag of chocolate chips in my cupboard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccrock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
We have updated this recipe to list the brown sugar in Step 2. We hope this helps! We apologize for the ommission. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
These are wonderful for kids & adults! I don't use the chocolate chips and they're still delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Brandon, Suffolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
My kids love them! They are great and so close to the "store bought" but I can make with love. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
I agree that this recipe is a complete hit! The wet ingredients are a fantastic base, and I love trying new combinations of dry ingredients every time I make this. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by howmanycamels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Very tasty! I've been trying to find a more cost effective alternative to my family's favorite lunchbox snack; chewy granola bars from the grocery store. These are perfect! I didn't have any cheerios, so I used golden grahams instead. The bars tasted like S'mores! Delicious! I also used honey instead of corn syrup. I reduced the cooking time to 15 minutes, then turned off the oven and let the bars stay in the oven another 5 minutes. They turned out perfect! The kids are flocking to the kitchen to try the first batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paris Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States