Chewy Chocolate Chip Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I had to change my previous review because now I love these! I use 5 TBSP honey instead of corn syrup and I also add a few TBSP of ground Flaxseed. If you make these and they come out too crumbly, try adding more peanut butter. I don't use marshmallows, but add 1/2 cup toasted chopped almonds and 1 cup choc. chips. I make these so much that I had to start buying the ingredients in bulk at costco! I have a 14 lb bag of chocolate chips in my cupboard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccrock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I have tried every granola bar recipe on Allrecipes.com searching for a flexible, adaptable snack bar, that is enough like store-bought that my kids will eat them, but which is still better for them (sugar/bad fat-wise). THESE ARE A SUCCESS! I used mini-chocolate chips and chopped nuts in 1/2 the batch, and white chocolate chips, almonds, and dried cranberries in the other 1/2. I baked each seperately in a 11x7 pan and they turned out great--not too dry, chewy, and held together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
I would like to thank you for this recipe. I have made many different versions of it. . . I have about 20 flavors so far and have tried several, I make a new one each week. I vary the ingredients considerably, but your recipe was the inspiration. I like the high protein in this bar. It sticks with you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Boyce, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
This recipe is AWESOME! I've made it several times. Once my mother-in-law tasted them at my house, now she asks me to bring these chewy granola to all of our family gatherings! She raves about them to everyone she knows who enjoys healthy foods. The rest of my family loves them too, especially my 3 young boys (age 9, 6 and 3). THANK YOU for your creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
These were so easy to make. The kids absolutely love them and they are way cheaper (and better for them) than the store-bought variety. With todays' economy I need to save wherever I can. We try different add-ins, fruits, nuts, flavors. It's all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Addicting! I did not have quite enough peanut butter, so I topped off the measuring cup with (about a tablespoon) honey. The only other sub I made was to do walnuts instead of marshmallows. They are a little crumbly so next time I will try pushing them into the pan a little harder, to make them more compact and something you can eat on the go. I did cut the recipe in half and cooked in my 8x8 pan for exactly 25 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
We have updated this recipe to list the brown sugar in Step 2. We hope this helps! We apologize for the ommission. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Tastes even better the next day. My teenagers did not like it but my toddler and I will keep using it for snack-time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
maybe I did something wrong, cuz mine were super crumbly. delicious, but crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sticky8uns
Home Town: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
My husband and I loved this recipe! Mine did not stay packed together like I had hoped and I even added some honey trying to get them to stick. My 5 and 2 year olds were not crazy about it at all though. I didn't have any chocolate chips so that was omitted. Great recipe that I will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States