Chewy Chocolate Chip Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
breaks a little, but good flavor. used honey instead of corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Very tasty! I've been trying to find a more cost effective alternative to my family's favorite lunchbox snack; chewy granola bars from the grocery store. These are perfect! I didn't have any cheerios, so I used golden grahams instead. The bars tasted like S'mores! Delicious! I also used honey instead of corn syrup. I reduced the cooking time to 15 minutes, then turned off the oven and let the bars stay in the oven another 5 minutes. They turned out perfect! The kids are flocking to the kitchen to try the first batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paris Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
We have updated this recipe to list the brown sugar in Step 2. We hope this helps! We apologize for the ommission. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
This recipe comes together so easily, it's a great one for the kids to help with! They are healthy and homemade- which makes me feel good about feeding them to my children. I shared the recipe with my grandma and she has been making them with other types of cereal which turned out great. My only complaint is that the bars are too crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Ok, but not quite what I was looking for. These were soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
I agree that this recipe is a complete hit! The wet ingredients are a fantastic base, and I love trying new combinations of dry ingredients every time I make this. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by howmanycamels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I had to change my previous review because now I love these! I use 5 TBSP honey instead of corn syrup and I also add a few TBSP of ground Flaxseed. If you make these and they come out too crumbly, try adding more peanut butter. I don't use marshmallows, but add 1/2 cup toasted chopped almonds and 1 cup choc. chips. I make these so much that I had to start buying the ingredients in bulk at costco! I have a 14 lb bag of chocolate chips in my cupboard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccrock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
I love granola bars andI had high hopes. I followed the recipe but these bars came out as crumbs and a little dry. Not bad to sprinkle over ice cream. I will dry it again playing with the ingredients and quantities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Nice recipe. I've been baking another bar, and I'm really into those. A little faster than these and little healthier. I'll save this recipe for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
My husband and I loved this recipe! Mine did not stay packed together like I had hoped and I even added some honey trying to get them to stick. My 5 and 2 year olds were not crazy about it at all though. I didn't have any chocolate chips so that was omitted. Great recipe that I will make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States