Chewy Chocolate Chip Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
These were good i added whole peanuts as well as an extra 1/4c of peanut butter. But i think the corn syrup was a little to sweet and i will try just honey next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda*~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This were tasteless. The texture was ok but they just were nothing like granola bars. Sorry, but I will NOT try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
They were great not too sweet. Instead of corn syrup I used 5 table spoons of honey. I added 2 table spoons of ground flax seed and 1/2 cup of unsweetened coconut flakes. I did not use the marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
These are fantastic. I made quite a few changes, the 1st time I used honey instead of corn syrup, but the last several times I used Brown Rice Syrup and that has turned out wonderful! I also add in about a 1/4 cup of flax seed meal, a cup of slivered almonds and remove the marshmallows and oat rings. Also makes a great white chocolate & macadamia nut. Fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Yum! Just as good, if not better, than store bought. Thank you soo much for this basic recipe. I used 1/4 cup sugar free maple syrup and 1/4 cup honey in place of the corn syrup. Other swaps: 1/4 cup brown sugar, broken graham crackers instead of cereal, part raisins part almonds for the marshmallows, ground flaxseed for wheat germ, and added a scoop of whey protein powder. I pressed the mix firmly into the pan before baking (27 minutes at 350) and I had no crumble issues. I cannot wait to try it with nutella and broken oreos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cornpop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Addicting! I did not have quite enough peanut butter, so I topped off the measuring cup with (about a tablespoon) honey. The only other sub I made was to do walnuts instead of marshmallows. They are a little crumbly so next time I will try pushing them into the pan a little harder, to make them more compact and something you can eat on the go. I did cut the recipe in half and cooked in my 8x8 pan for exactly 25 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
These turned out great. I didn't have any problem with them falling apart. I did add a 1/4 cup more of peanut butter and pressed them very well into the pan. This may have helped them hold together. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
These were so easy to make. The kids absolutely love them and they are way cheaper (and better for them) than the store-bought variety. With todays' economy I need to save wherever I can. We try different add-ins, fruits, nuts, flavors. It's all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Did I do something wrong? Maybe I cooked them for too long because they came out thick and dry with almost no flavor. I couldn't taste the peanut butter at all... definitely won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clairvis

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
breaks a little, but good flavor. used honey instead of corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States