Chewy Chocolate Chip Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These are very good and quick and easy to prepare. I can definatley see how the recipie can be varied easily. I used rice krispies as my cereal and skipped out on the marshmellows - the rest was the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Edem

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
These were fantastic; we really enjoyed them. I was just looking for a way to use up some extra wheat germ. The only downside was that they are kind of crumbly, definitely not eating in the car material. But as far as healthy and tasty go, five stars all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
i made these yesterday. i did change a couple things. i didn't use toasted cereal instead i used cashews. instead of marshmellow i used craisins (cherry dried cranberry) these were the perfect chewy. everyone loves them. btw if the name is chewy choc chip granola bars its going to be chewy haha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
The taste gets 5 starts, but I agree with other reviewers that they are a little too crumbly. However, the recipe is extremely versatile! I wonder if adding an egg would help them be less crumbly, but have yet to try that variation. So far my fave variation of this recipe is using almond instead of peanut butter, adding a tsp of cinnamon, replacing the marshmallows, Cheerios, and chocolate chips with a cup (combined total) of craisins, slivered almonds, sunflower seeds, pumpkin kernels, and flax seeds. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I thought this was an excellent recipe. I used honey in place of corn syrup which has a similar consistancy. I added some milk chocolate chips and white chocolate chips to mine and I made a few extras plain for my husband. Once cooled, I wrapped these individually so we can grab them on the go. I tried this recipe because of the great ingredients, especially the peanut butter and the addition of chocolate chips. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Too sweet for me, but I can see myself liking these with something other than chocolate chips and marshmallows--say, with cranberries or nuts I'd probably really like them. They are too crumbly, though--I was having a hard time getting them out of the pan whole--so I think I'd have to add more Karo syrup and/or peanut butter to address that. Otherwise, though, a decent granola bar recipe. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
An awesome go-to snack for adults and kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
followed exactly, turned out more like a cookie bar than granola bar but still pretty good... probably wont make this again still searching for the right one but thanks all the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deevarey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Not sure what we did wrong. Mine came out really undercooked in the middle and didn't have nearly enough "granola" texture-- like grainy chocolate chip cookie dough. Off to keep looking for the right one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mission, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
tasted too much apple sauce. Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States