Chewy Chocolate Chip Granola Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This recipe is very easy and very good! My daughter is allergic to peanut butter so I made it with sunbutter. A little crumbly so I will add more sunbutter next time like someone else suggested about adding more PB. Overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Tastes even better the next day. My teenagers did not like it but my toddler and I will keep using it for snack-time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I thought these were very good, however I gave them 4 stars because if I had added all of the dry ingredients listed, it would have been far too crumbly. I only used 2.5 cups of rolled oats, 1/3 cup of wheat germ and omitted the cereal all together. I used dark instead of milk chocolate chips because that's what I had and I think it would have been better with Milk chocolate chips. I could taste the applesauce a bit. A bit. If I did not know it was in there I would probably just wonder what that slight flavor was and continue eating it though. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
maybe I did something wrong, cuz mine were super crumbly. delicious, but crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sticky8uns
Home Town: Buffalo, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I am very sorry to say, we did not care for these. Dry, crumbly and without much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Witch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I like to keep my kiddos' snacks healthy and this recipe is one way I achieve that. I substitute honey for the corn syrup and milled flaxseed for the wheat germ. Make sure and reduce the time to 23 - 25 minutes. They brown quick at the end of baking. I bake a pan, cool, then cut into bars. I put each bar into a snack-size ziplock bag, then all of them go into a gallon-size freezer bag. My kiddos know to grab one in the morning and it is thawed out by snack time at school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Followed the recipe exactly as written with the exception of replacing the corn syrup with honey because I am allergic to corn in any form. I thought the flavor was good but as other reviewers stated, the bars came out crumbly. I will try adding more peanut butter next time to see if it makes a difference. Also, after baking for 25 minutes, the outter edges of the granola were almost starting to burn..so I think I will reduce the amount of cook time as well. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I know I will be trying these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I made a few changes to make them a little less sugary and maybe a little "lighter". I used 1/4 cup of brown sugar, Trader Joe's organic chunky peanut butter, homemade SF maple syrup instead of corn syrup, homemade organic applesauce, dried blueberries instead of chocolate chips (the submitter of this recipe suggests to change out the chocolate chops and marshmallows with dried fruit and nuts if you would like, which I did), and I cut the wheat germ back to a heaping 1/3 cup Wheat Germ because I read a lot of reviews that claimed these bars were crumbly. Now, I baked these for 20 minutes at 350 and they were really well done. I don't know how to get the chewy consistancy of granola bars because it seems that even when I cut the time back, they're overdone. I don't mind them being crumbly, it's just I would like them to be chewy sometimes. I got eighteen bars, just like the recipe stated. I cut them up and individually wrapped them and stuck them in the freezer for weekly lunches and snacks. I get 18 organic bars for less than two bucks for the whole batch instead of almost five dollars for six. Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
My kids loved these. I added dried cranberries and melted chocolate on top after they came out of the oven to make them more like the ones from the store and my kids loved them. I will say that they were a bit messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These are very good and quick and easy to prepare. I can definatley see how the recipie can be varied easily. I used rice krispies as my cereal and skipped out on the marshmellows - the rest was the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut butter and chocolate chunks make these chewy cookies addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States