Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
These were delicious! I had to use rice syrup instead of corn, but it didn't change the flavor at all so they came out SO YUMMY! Key with this is to go slow. I'm impatient so had to really hold back from increasing the temp. It slowly but surely got to the proper temp though. Next time, I think I'm going to heat it just a little longer. Soft ball texture is delicious and melts in your mouth, but I'd like it to be just a little more chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Super easy to make and way delicious. My first attempt at making caramels was a success thanks to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I just got through letting this cool, and oh my gosh! I LOVE IT! I redid the recipe for 20 servings instead of 32. And cooked it the "Hard Ball" Stage so that I could work with it better later. It's amazing in my opinion. Buttery, rich, creamy, and almost nutty in flavor. Best caramel I've ever had, by far. I will never buy Caramel candies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisajarrett09
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I used this caramel recipe for caramel apples and was VERY impressed with how they turned out. The caramel sets up very quickly, so next time I am going to make sure I have the nuts chopped up before I dip the apples. I had to press the nuts and M&Ms into the caramel because I thought I would have more time. Live and learn, but I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajarrett09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Awesome recipe! I used Evaporated milk instead and worked fine. Also used low fat margarine. Just boiled a bit longer at a lower temp for a few mins first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This recipe has been in our family for over 20 years as "Easy Microwave Caramels". Use a 2 quart microwave safe bowl. Mix the ingredients, pop into the microwave for 2 minutes, stir, cook 2 more minutes, stir, then cook for about 12 - 14 minutes (no need to stir) until it reaches 245 degrees. At that point, I test every minute until it is done. So much easier and faster than cooking it on the stove and it doesn't burn. My recipe says let it sit 10 minutes when it comes out of the microwave, stirring a couple of times, before pouring into the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHELLBELL
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Only change was I used white sugar as I didn't have any brown! I also didn't use a candy thermometer, just used the soft ball test and it turned out great! I had no issues with it setting up and yes it is chewy, hence then name chewy caramel! It was SOOOOO good, creamy, chewy, sweet and terrible for my belly! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This recipe is amazing and so simple! I didn't have vanilla but it didn't need it. I've made this recipe twice now and both times were just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Delicious, great flavor. I really recommend using half the butter though. especially if you are going to use this to make carameled apples because with this much butter it barely sticks to the apple. To cook the mixture i leave it on medium heat for about 8 minutes constantly stirring. I think the directions were a little confusing on that part. Just wait till its a little thick. I use a non stick pan which just makes it easier. If you are going to make apples roll the apples in the caramel right after you take it off the heat. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States