Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I love this recipe! Only thing is, I've never understood the temperature given on the original. I always cook to about 254 or so on a very accurate thermometer, to make caramel squares that stay squares on their own for days, but still get chewy when you eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Recipe was easy to follow. I forgot the vanilla. It was still very good. I could cut it, but it was chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I added the vanilla between steps 1 and 2, since it wasn't specified in the directions. Tastes good, but my batch seems a tad too soft; I'm going to try chilling it for a bit before attempting to cut and wrap peices. This recipe is definitely easy!! And not too messy; I'll probably try it again sometime and see if I can get the consistency right. Update: They are a smash hit at the office!! Everyone is raving about them. I chilled before wrapping, and then kept them refrigerated overnight--not one mention of them being too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
YUM, I added the vanilla along with the other ingredients while bringing to boil came out great. Also added it between the first and second step as stated below works fine also. Dont think think you can screw this up unless you get the heat too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
it is too die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This was perfect. We used it to make caramel apples. We will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Awesome recipe! Very easy to make and it was my first time, too. I doubled the recipe and it was enough to coat around 25 medium sized apples. ( I used red/royal gala-can't remember what the name was) The caramel was yummy and the texture, I thought, really went well with the apples. By the way I made these caramel apples for 16 to 24 years old and they really snapped them up! I had left over caramel set and had them cut into cubes-and they were gobbled up too, and also by parents! The caramel colour was darker than what is found in stores but that didn't affect the flavour. Overall, I will do this recipe again. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This caramel was PERFECT for making filled chocolates! I only used approx. 2/3 cup of corn syrup(All I had left!) and let it get to about 250 degrees. I let it set overnight and made the chocolates the next day. So delicious! I will DEFINATELY be making this again! One suggestion though- butter only the sides of the pan and place parchment paper on the bottom- You won't have a problem with it sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary G Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
Delicious! This recipe is a big hit with friends and family. It is a no-fail recipe. I follow the recipe as written, alhtough I always add the vanilla during the last minute or two of cooking time before transferring to a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
This recipe rocks !! The first time I made it the carmel did'nt hold it's shape but was still good. The next time I made it I cooked it to firm ball stage about 248 ( about 20 min).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States