Chewy Caramel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
These are amazing!! In have made 3 batches of them just in the last week and they do not last long, my grandchildren could eat them in a matter of hours if I let them. I will certainly make more and not just for Christmas. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
OMG this is the most amazing - and Simple recipe! I was compared to a candy shop in Chicago when I made this. It is chewy, soft and has the perfect flavor! Incredible recipe and a MUST for every holiday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginSnowflake

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This recipe was easy to make and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigonish, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This was my first time making caramel and it came out awesome!! I forgot to put the pinch of salt and the vanilla because I was so excited that I was making caramel! It tasted delicious anyways! I did listen to the reviews though and made sure it cooked long to reach the higher temperature. I dont have a candy thermometer so I kinda guessed. Cooked it for 20minutes on medium heat. Thanks for this recipe! It is sooo delicious and everyone loves it, even my mother who is a salty kinda snacker, she was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I followed the advice of other posters, and cooked to 248° so the caramels would be easier to cut and wrap. All I had was dark brown sugar, which makes the caramels really dark, but they still tasted great. I took half of the batch to a Christmas party, and people were raving about them. My twelve year old son said "That's a lot of butter!" All of the butter is what makes them taste so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This caramel is awesome! After reading and following some reviewer's suggestions, I found this really wonderful! I like the softer caramels too, I doubled the recipe, cooked to the soft ball stage plus 2 mins, used parchment paper, buttered the sides of a jelly roll pan, and let it sit all day before wrapping it up. After a few practice wraps, I finally got the size and how to wrap each piece. I think I will try making it again and boil it to the firm ball stage. At any rate, I'm sending this to school for our teachers sweets exchange! Looking forward to their positive comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
These caramels were a huge success. However, I made two changes: 1) as suggested by other reviewers, I increased the cooking temperature to about 250F. 2) I sprinkled some sea salt on top of the caramel. Very easy recipe and the outcome is simply divine! Soft and chewy caramel! Thanks HARSHMA for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD_RJ_Atl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
WOW, very easy & very good. Followed recipe as is & turned out great. Thank you so much for sharing, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This is the exact same recipe from my Homes and Garden Cookbook I received for a wedding gift in 1976. I can't believe there are any criticisms for this recipe. If you want harder carmels cook them to the firm ball stage instead of soft ball. Dah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
These are good but time consuming to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States